Easy Seven Layer Vegetable Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Good salad. Lettuce will stay firm if you use iceberg. I also used green onion instead of green pepper. This added a nice contrast to the sweetness of the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
I got this recipe from a friend years ago.Since then I have made it for family bbq's and friends dinners parties.Everyone loves it and marvels at how easy it is. I have changed my dressing slightly,I add 1/2 mircle whip salad dressing and 1/2 yogurt. It is much lighter and just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
I rate recipes by asking myself if I would make them again and this one I would not make again. After 12 hours in the fridge you end up with a pan of soggy lettuce and tasteless veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
Delicious AND easy! Great hit at a recent party! I did tweek the recipe a bit: used baby spinach leaves in addition to iceberg lettuce, green onion in place of green pepper, water chestnuts in place of cauliflower -- you really can use anything you want in the layers. My dressing did not "trickle down," but I simply tossed before serving. A DEFINITE KEEPER RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
We love salad and this one is great. I added a layer of water chesnuts and left out cauliflower and it was still wonderful. Very good for holiday dinners because you make the day before and store in the fridge which cuts out some of the work on the big cooking day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
Absolutely Delicious! Made it for a dinner party and the compliments kept coming long after the salad was gone. I added 3 chopped hard boiled eggs,cherry tomatoes and chopped roasted pecans. I was not sure about the Mayo Dressing but thats what makes it so Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
Wonderful cold salad...went over very well at my office potluck. My husband even loved it and he's not a big salad eater. It took some time to cut up all the vegetables, but it wasn't difficult. I would use less peas. They kind of take over the flavor of the salad when there are too many. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
Great salad. I will only add half the peas next time. I added tomatoes and next time will also put in some cucumber. I was pleasently surprised that I liked the mayo dressing. I added a little more sugar than what was called for. The bacon was one of the best parts of the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
My 11 year old daughter made this recipe and it was wonderful. Instead of cheddar, we used mozzarella and parmesan combination. Was a hit at the company potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
Loved it! Let it sit over night. It is a very pretty dish but I mixed it well before I ate it for better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States