Easy Sausage Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
YUM! I took the advice of some of the reviews and I added an extra cup of chicken broth, 1 large pepper (which made a huge difference for me!), and a couple tablespoons of extra butter. It was so YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph84106

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Yum!!! We also sauted the giblets and mushrooms in a pan and then added them to the sasuage mixture. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Great recipe! I made this for our Thanksgiving dinner and got loads of compliments! :) I cooked the sausage and veggies together... and added a little bit of poultry seasoning. Then followed the rest of the directions. Perfection! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geekmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I was looking for a new stuffing recipe and decided to try this one. It was fairly easy to make and allowed me to concentrate on making the other dishes for dinner. I made two versions of this - with and without the sausage - as I was cooking for some people that didn't eat pork. It turned out great for both versions. I decided to add an extra 1/2 cup of chicken broth after reading the reviews (for a total of 3 cups). I think that it added the right amount of moistness to the stuffing. I also added carrots to the onion and celery mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this for the first time yesterday and it was a huge hit! In the past, my father-in-law always made the turkey & stuffing for Thanksgiving, but he passed away in the spring of this year. He didn't write down his recipes, so I was looking for a recipe that would enable me to keep the sausage stuffing tradition alive for our family. I saw this and decided to try it. On the advice of a coworker, I added an apple to the onion & celery mix and added 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon. The only other change I made was to add the spices to the sausage/onion/celery/apple mix before combining with the bread crumbs--it ensures a more even distribution of the spices. I found the broth amount to be just right; the stuffing came out moist but not too mushy. My cooking time was a bit different, since I put it in the oven with the turkey; it baked at 325 for @15 minutes, then at 350 for the remaining time. My family LOVED it and asked for the recipe. This is definitely a keeper and will appear on our Thanksgiving table from now on. My father-in-law would've been proud! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This worked out great for me. I did need to increase the chicken broth to closer to 3 1/2 cups. I used the savory sage sausage roll, I think that made the stuffing. With plain sausage, it might not have been as flavorful. Another reviewer mentioned that she would add sauteed mushrooms the next time she made it, I think I will do the same... it would be a fabulous addition to this dish. Very easy, very good - everyone gobbled it up at my Thanksgiving dinner today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I used Pepperidge Herbed Seasoned stuffing (not the cubed as called for in the recipe). Best mistake I made! I took off the foil at the end and browned the top 10 mins in the oven. My new favorite sausage stuffing recipe. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mags

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I was afraid to make stuffing because I was told the seasoning is hard to get down but this was so easy and so good! I used sweet sausage and that was fine. I added mushrooms because I saw that in another recipe and thought it was a good idea to make it even heartier. I used the poultry seasoning, onion powder, Accent seasoning, pepper and a little salt. I also used seasoned bread crumbs and the taste came out awesome. Next time I will probably use a little less salt though since I won't be so worried that the taste might not be right :) Also, I watched some food shows on how to make stuffing and saw another good tip which was to make sure that the stuffing is moist before baking. I used two cans of chicken broth and that did it! Doing this was the best idea because it helped me see what the stuffing was supposed to look like before I baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmarielaurel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
we LOVE this stuffing recipe. I only make it 2-3 times a year, because I have no will-power and would eat it all!!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Very easy, very versatile (meaning I use this not only for Thanksgiving but also for random weekday dinners) and very tasty. The only issue I had was that it was much too soggy. I followed the recipe to a 'T' so the next time I make it, I will have to cut the chicken broth down to 2 cups instead of 2 and 1/2 cups. Other than that, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Kowalski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States