Easy Sausage, Peppers and Onions with Elbows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I've made this recipe before but in a skillet so I was excited to see it done in a crock pot...what a time saver! This is a family favorite of ours, though we put the sausage/pepper mixture over angel hair pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newivi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Very easy to make and taste awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Very easy. I served over rice instead of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This is so good. I made extra for subs later in the week. I will use this recipe in my monthly rotation. Thanks for sharing the recipe,I can use all the help that I can get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I scaled this down to just two servings and used all hot Italian sausage. Since we love bell peppers (which you might have guessed), I used a mix of green, red, yellow and orange and probably used more than indicated. I also subbed bow tie pasta that was already cooked and in the freezer, for the elbows. I tweaked this just a little by adding some crushed red pepper for some zip, and a little dry white wine, because I couldn’t help myself, lol! Well, this was really good and a snap to make! Hubs and I both really enjoyed it. This is now my go-to recipe for sausage and peppers! Love it! Thank you korilynne for a terrific new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is a favorite in our house because not only does it double well (so you can freeze half for another meal or feed a large group) but it's quick to assemble before a busy day. I like to use Uncle Charley's sausages (which is a really good Pennsylvania sausage company), organic pasta sauce and sometimes, I'll throw in a couple drained cans of fire roasted tomatoes. You might want to taste your sauce before you serve it just in case it needs seasonings. Usually, the sausage (and the sauce--so use a good one!) gives the sauce all the flavor it needs. Great goulash. This also is a good sauce for lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
LOVED IT, but I knew that we would, lol! This took no time to throw together and the slow cooker did all the work. I cooked it on low for about 6-1/2 hrs. and that was perfect. The sausage was so tender and the sauce so flavorful, that it needed nothing else added. I would've never thought to serve this over elbows, but it was a perfect match. Hubby took one bite and said 'this is delicious'! I would make this anytime, wether I'm busy or not...It's just great comfort food~YUM! Thanks, Korilynne for sharing this awesom recipe that I will be using often! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I made this for dinner tonight and thought the recipe was amazing. I had to alter it as I didn't have all the ingredients. I substituted the elbow macaroni for cubed potatoes and only used hot Italian sausage. We used a sweeter, cheesier, pasta sauce and my biggest fear was that it was going to be sweet and not spicy and that was not the case. We served it on top of buttered toast with cheese, and its a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Delicious and easy! Loved this recipe, only I used Whole Wheat rotini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I love it when I’m just looking for a simple, easy recipe to use up ingredients that have been hanging around in the freezer, and I run across a gem of a recipe. I admit I did tweak it slightly. I only had hot sausage, took them out of its casing and browned it in the skillet before adding it to the slow cooker. I chopped the veggies, not sliced them to get a chunky style sauce. It came out perfect. My husband immediately said after taking the first bite “This is a five star.” I couldn’t agree more. I’ll be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States