Easy Sausage, Peppers and Onions with Elbows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is a favorite in our house because not only does it double well (so you can freeze half for another meal or feed a large group) but it's quick to assemble before a busy day. I like to use Uncle Charley's sausages (which is a really good Pennsylvania sausage company), organic pasta sauce and sometimes, I'll throw in a couple drained cans of fire roasted tomatoes. You might want to taste your sauce before you serve it just in case it needs seasonings. Usually, the sausage (and the sauce--so use a good one!) gives the sauce all the flavor it needs. Great goulash. This also is a good sauce for lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I scaled this down to just two servings and used all hot Italian sausage. Since we love bell peppers (which you might have guessed), I used a mix of green, red, yellow and orange and probably used more than indicated. I also subbed bow tie pasta that was already cooked and in the freezer, for the elbows. I tweaked this just a little by adding some crushed red pepper for some zip, and a little dry white wine, because I couldn’t help myself, lol! Well, this was really good and a snap to make! Hubs and I both really enjoyed it. This is now my go-to recipe for sausage and peppers! Love it! Thank you korilynne for a terrific new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
LOVED IT, but I knew that we would, lol! This took no time to throw together and the slow cooker did all the work. I cooked it on low for about 6-1/2 hrs. and that was perfect. The sausage was so tender and the sauce so flavorful, that it needed nothing else added. I would've never thought to serve this over elbows, but it was a perfect match. Hubby took one bite and said 'this is delicious'! I would make this anytime, wether I'm busy or not...It's just great comfort food~YUM! Thanks, Korilynne for sharing this awesom recipe that I will be using often! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Very good, easy, and makes a lot. I used less sausage--I used smoked turkey sausage and dumped it all in the slow cooker chopped; I didn't bother with putting them in whole and then pulling them back out again. I did use some water but wouldn't next time; I like really thick sauce and I don't like it when it's watery, which this was. I added some minced garlic to this (instead of the onion) and served over farfalle pasta. The recipe does make a lot, but we'll take portions for lunch during the week and for leftovers later on. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Fatal flaw for me: this cooked up so greasy it was impossible to eat. I put in uncooked sausages, and when it was done cooking, the sauce was just a greasy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This is so good. I made extra for subs later in the week. I will use this recipe in my monthly rotation. Thanks for sharing the recipe,I can use all the help that I can get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I've made this recipe before but in a skillet so I was excited to see it done in a crock pot...what a time saver! This is a family favorite of ours, though we put the sausage/pepper mixture over angel hair pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newivi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Very easy. I served over rice instead of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Delicious and easy! Loved this recipe, only I used Whole Wheat rotini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I love it when I’m just looking for a simple, easy recipe to use up ingredients that have been hanging around in the freezer, and I run across a gem of a recipe. I admit I did tweak it slightly. I only had hot sausage, took them out of its casing and browned it in the skillet before adding it to the slow cooker. I chopped the veggies, not sliced them to get a chunky style sauce. It came out perfect. My husband immediately said after taking the first bite “This is a five star.” I couldn’t agree more. I’ll be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States