Easy Sausage, Peppers and Onions with Elbows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is a favorite in our house because not only does it double well (so you can freeze half for another meal or feed a large group) but it's quick to assemble before a busy day. I like to use Uncle Charley's sausages (which is a really good Pennsylvania sausage company), organic pasta sauce and sometimes, I'll throw in a couple drained cans of fire roasted tomatoes. You might want to taste your sauce before you serve it just in case it needs seasonings. Usually, the sausage (and the sauce--so use a good one!) gives the sauce all the flavor it needs. Great goulash. This also is a good sauce for lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I scaled this down to just two servings and used all hot Italian sausage. Since we love bell peppers (which you might have guessed), I used a mix of green, red, yellow and orange and probably used more than indicated. I also subbed bow tie pasta that was already cooked and in the freezer, for the elbows. I tweaked this just a little by adding some crushed red pepper for some zip, and a little dry white wine, because I couldn’t help myself, lol! Well, this was really good and a snap to make! Hubs and I both really enjoyed it. This is now my go-to recipe for sausage and peppers! Love it! Thank you korilynne for a terrific new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
LOVED IT, but I knew that we would, lol! This took no time to throw together and the slow cooker did all the work. I cooked it on low for about 6-1/2 hrs. and that was perfect. The sausage was so tender and the sauce so flavorful, that it needed nothing else added. I would've never thought to serve this over elbows, but it was a perfect match. Hubby took one bite and said 'this is delicious'! I would make this anytime, wether I'm busy or not...It's just great comfort food~YUM! Thanks, Korilynne for sharing this awesom recipe that I will be using often! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Very good, easy, and makes a lot. I used less sausage--I used smoked turkey sausage and dumped it all in the slow cooker chopped; I didn't bother with putting them in whole and then pulling them back out again. I did use some water but wouldn't next time; I like really thick sauce and I don't like it when it's watery, which this was. I added some minced garlic to this (instead of the onion) and served over farfalle pasta. The recipe does make a lot, but we'll take portions for lunch during the week and for leftovers later on. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Fatal flaw for me: this cooked up so greasy it was impossible to eat. I put in uncooked sausages, and when it was done cooking, the sauce was just a greasy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This is so good. I made extra for subs later in the week. I will use this recipe in my monthly rotation. Thanks for sharing the recipe,I can use all the help that I can get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I've made this recipe before but in a skillet so I was excited to see it done in a crock pot...what a time saver! This is a family favorite of ours, though we put the sausage/pepper mixture over angel hair pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newivi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Very easy. I served over rice instead of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Delicious and easy! Loved this recipe, only I used Whole Wheat rotini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I love it when I’m just looking for a simple, easy recipe to use up ingredients that have been hanging around in the freezer, and I run across a gem of a recipe. I admit I did tweak it slightly. I only had hot sausage, took them out of its casing and browned it in the skillet before adding it to the slow cooker. I chopped the veggies, not sliced them to get a chunky style sauce. It came out perfect. My husband immediately said after taking the first bite “This is a five star.” I couldn’t agree more. I’ll be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States