Easy Sausage, Peppers and Onions with Elbows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This turned out amazing. Rather than sauce, I used olive oil. I also sprinkled a generous amount of black pepper, Italian seasoning, crushed red pepper and garlic salt over each layer of sausage and veggies (2 green peppers, 1 red pepper, 1 onion). When served over the cooked elbow macaroni, the combination of olive oil and liquid from the veggies created a perfect, light "sauce".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This is so easy and delicious. I love the texture the sausages take on in the slow cooker. I used all hot italians and used "Basic Spicy Sauce" from this site since I had a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes to use up. Served over spaghetti. This is easy weeknight comfort food at it's best. House smeells like an Italian restaurant while this is cooking. Thanks for sharing, Kori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
EXCELLENT! I love that this recipe is so versatile. Hubby asked for it to be served with rice and it was absolutely delicious. He kept telling me how much he enjoyed it and asked to have sandwiches with the leftovers for tomorrow. I was hoping to freeze the leftovers and have it with elbows another day. Thank you korilynne for such an EXCELLENT recipe that can be served so many different ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Very easy and tasty. There was a bit too much liquid for my tastes so will add some stewed tomatoes next time. Will also try adding some minced garlic and maybe white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
kinda bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Not wild about this, but it may just be a personal preference. I didn't like how the sausage got mushy. It was a great idea though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Yummy! Thanks Korilynne, this recipe is super easy and was soooooo good! Huge hit with my family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Very good, easy, and makes a lot. I used less sausage--I used smoked turkey sausage and dumped it all in the slow cooker chopped; I didn't bother with putting them in whole and then pulling them back out again. I did use some water but wouldn't next time; I like really thick sauce and I don't like it when it's watery, which this was. I added some minced garlic to this (instead of the onion) and served over farfalle pasta. The recipe does make a lot, but we'll take portions for lunch during the week and for leftovers later on. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
My family, including my grandsons, 4 and 8, really enjoyed this. I ended up cooking it on top of the stove, and made it just as the recipe states, except I sprinkled some parmesan on top. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Scharf Rhodes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Wow - this is easy and delicious. A plus is my book is that it is all made in the crockpot. The only change I made was in the pasta. I had some type of corkscrew pasta rather than elbows. I made the full batch and 2 bags are in the freezer to reheat for a quick meal. The blend of the two sausage flavors is what I feel is the perfect balance in this recipe. Thanks korilynne for sharing your recipe with us. It is good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States