Easy Sausage Gravy and Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is a great basic Sausage and Gravy! My husband grew up eating this stuff and introduced it to me about 10 years ago. It is a family staple now. A note on the gravy: DO NOT DRAIN THE SAUSAGE. You need the grease inorder to bring the gravy together, adding butter will drastically change the flavor. We use red pepper flakes and toss it in as the sausage is cooking. You can also use the "hot" flavored sausage to get an extra layer of flavor. Make sure that you completly stir in the flour and alow it to cook with the sausage and grease for a minute or two before addin the milk, this will take out any "pastey taste". Add the milk slowly, I have used skim, 1%, all the way to cream, usually whatever I have on hand. I have found that the less fat your milk has, the less milk you will need to create the gravy! Great on biscuts, toast, cornbread, mashed potatoes, and more...yummmm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
389 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I didn't have Jimmy Dean crumbles but I did have a roll of the ground sausage I used. I couponed a couple days ago and had a few canisters of whomp biscuits so this was perfect for that. I did add a little red pepper flake. Whole skillet? Gone. Great winter snowy morning breakfast. NOTE: For most white gravy mixes, I use equal amounts butter and flour and make a roux in the skillet before I wisk in the milk. It makes for a better gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is exactly how I have been making it and my husband and I love it. Caution... eating biscuits and gravy at resturants will not taste as good anymore. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by porsche

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
We had this last night for dinner; real comfort food for a cold night. The only thing I do different is remove the sausage when done and set aside, add 1/4 cup butter to the pan, make the gravy, add back the sausage and often add a fried egg on top, or fry some crushed hashbrowns until crispy to top off the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
We make our own bisquits and use half and half cream instead of the milk. There is no other sausage that we use but Jimmy Dean's! The recipe listed is a decent quick peparation. We double our recipe since we always seem to gobble more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woollysheep

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was my first time making biscuits and gravy. My family loved these. I may add a bit more flower next time to make the gravy thicker. Great flavor and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Wow. This was my first time ever making biscuits and gravy and it came out awesome, which doesn't happen too often when I try a new recipe. I'm 4 months pregnant and have been really craving this so I found some nitrate free Jimmy Dean ground sausage (in the roll) and used Grands frozen buttermilk biscuits. The only downside was that because I used a whole roll of sausage I had to double the recipe and it made tons - guess I'll be freezing some as my husband won't eat it. Also, it of course took me longer - about 45 mins to make. I used others suggestions and did not drain the sausage but I did add a pat of butter before the flour. Also, I added the flour slowly and cooked for a bit before the milk, then did the same with that. Great consistency, no lumps! This is just as good if not better than the local diner's and no nitrates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Absolutely great. This what we will be haveing from now on. Thanks Jimmy Dean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ute Park, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This has been one of my favorite recipes for years! My mom used to make biscuits and gravy like this for me as a kid, and gave me the recipe so I can make them myself a few years back. Now I make it at least a couple times a month :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Cheater's recipe! LOL...the instructions for the gravy were good, and I suppose if you are pressed for time, refrigerated canned biscuits are okay....but homemade are so much better, especially since there are recipes for the biscuits that can be mixed the night before and cooked in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States