Easy Sausage Gravy and Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Had a couple changes but it turned out great - didn't get to take a picture before the plates were scraped clean! I used Jennie O turkey sausage and added a little butter once it was done cooking, before adding the flour. Only had 1% milk, but didn't reduce it so the gravy was a little runny and had to cook it a little longer. Still didn't have enough gravy for a small can of biscuits, so I might have to make more gravy tomorrow morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I like the idea of removing the sausage while you finish the gravy and then add the sausage back. I have found it gets really thick. Oddly, Skim thickens faster than whole or cream. Sausage gravy is always better with a homemade biscuit; however, this is a good recipe for gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Artemisia Moltabocca
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Instead of flour try using Wondra. It is a very fine flour especially made for gravy. First I added the milk, then sprinkled in Wondra, and mixed everything in the pan using a whisk. I also used fresh pork sausage patties and broke them down with a fork while cooking them in the pan. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
i just cooked your gravy this morning to go along with some else's recipe for biscuits. Thank you loved, kids are eating now :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamilah Broddie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Nieves
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
It's great. Super simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Nieves

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
my wife put her own spin on this recipe. The gravy needed a little more flavor, so she added a beef bouillon cube. We used Hatfield sausage instead of Jimmy Dean, it was less fatty. Maybe that was the reason it needed to be tweaked. But it was fantastic. Unfortunately, we ate it before we even thought of taking a picture. But I am sure we will be making this recipe again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louis Charlie Ortiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzy Pants
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
my favorite breakfast!!! Dont drain the grease from the sausage!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Pants

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
i make our biscuits but this is a good basic recipe. I use a tube of sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I used fat free half n half so creamy. Only Jimmy deans for us .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louise Moriconi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Great basic recipe, with a few additions & changes this gets a 5+star rating on our opinion. using my cast iron fry pan: first I added 8 slices of thick cut bacon, drain the grease from the 1st. 4 slice batch, retain the grease from the 2nd. batch, add to that 1 small chopped onion cook until just about translucent, add the sausage cook though and set aside. Add 2 pads of butter to pan, whisk in 1 tablespoon at a time up to 1/4 cup flour, cooking until just golden brown, then add cream/milk about 1/4 cup at a time, add salt & pepper as needed bring to slow boil. in the meantime chop the bacon into small crumbles (the smaller the better), add the bacon crumbles back to cream/milk sauce cook 2 to 4 minutes, then add the sausage onion mixture back to pan, cook another 6 to 10 minutes. make sure you continuously to whisk cream/milk sauce and once you add the meats back stir often. Serve with gravy mixture on top baked hafed cut biscuits. OMG SOOOO VERY GOOD!!!! the only problem at the portions above this would not serve 8 adults, more like 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Kealy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Easy Marinated Pork Tenderloin

Quick and easy baked pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States