Easy Sausage Gravy and Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by beccaboo0490
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I just made the biscuits and sausage and gravy. I altered the recipe almighty. I used whole wheat flour and spicy chicken sausage from Trader Joes and I must say the changes I made were awesome- especially with the sausage. Definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
This was delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Photo by Kim M.
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I have now made this several times. The only thing I have done different is I use home raised and home made sausage. This recipe turns out great every time. Thank you for this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Basic but good, I will make it again vs. buying a pre-made can gravy. I think I will add extra seasonings, maybe some finely chopped onions and fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Usually double the gravy. So good! Perfect consistency. Watch how much salt you add because it can get salty quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crzyminnie
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Deliciousness! I love this recipe and is a staple in my home! Wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I grew up eating biscuits and gravy and enjoy them very much. I have until now never cooked the sausage gravy myself so I was not too sure how it would be. Since my lovely wife was not going to cook it for me, I decided to give it a try for myself. I am glad I did! The gravy came out perfect. I did modify the recipe slightly by adding a small chopped onion and ended up adding a stick of real butter because the sausage didn't produce enough fat. The end result was very tasty as easy to prepare. I believe the can of biscuits took longer to cook than the sausage gravy. I know this was a bit long winded but all in all great recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Benld, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Had a couple changes but it turned out great - didn't get to take a picture before the plates were scraped clean! I used Jennie O turkey sausage and added a little butter once it was done cooking, before adding the flour. Only had 1% milk, but didn't reduce it so the gravy was a little runny and had to cook it a little longer. Still didn't have enough gravy for a small can of biscuits, so I might have to make more gravy tomorrow morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I like the idea of removing the sausage while you finish the gravy and then add the sausage back. I have found it gets really thick. Oddly, Skim thickens faster than whole or cream. Sausage gravy is always better with a homemade biscuit; however, this is a good recipe for gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Artemisia Moltabocca
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Instead of flour try using Wondra. It is a very fine flour especially made for gravy. First I added the milk, then sprinkled in Wondra, and mixed everything in the pan using a whisk. I also used fresh pork sausage patties and broke them down with a fork while cooking them in the pan. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Easy Marinated Pork Tenderloin

Quick and easy baked pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States