Easy Sausage Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I have used this recioe many times. This time I did my own little twist and added to ingredients. Add 8oz. sour cream and half pkg. of chopped spinach. You have your meat and a veg. Really good. I always add more sausage and cheese than it calls for. Try it. Adds a little different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy House

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
These were pretty good, however I had to make several changes. I only made a half recipe, as I only had 2 cups of shredded cheese. To that I added about 1/4 cup of milk, as the mix was too dry without it. Also I increased the cooking time to 18 minutes, turning them halfway through. With those two changes these make a great breakfast food or snack for Game Day, but as written, only three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Bay, Alabama, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Made these last night, Turned out Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kabluey83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I have been using this EXACT recipe for alomst 20 yrs. EVERYONE who has tried them has since called for the recipe to make them themselves. It is difficult to mix but the product is well worth it. This is the best recipe for sausage cheese balls and I have never heard of complaints except when my aunt made them using a different recipe then called me for this recipe. She has had no problems since switching to this recipe. They are fabulous!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
If your mixture seems much too dry, as mine did, add buttermilk to the mixture until it sticks together. We did that with this recipe, and it was the best batch we've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern~/~Dragonfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
First, if you are going to make these, use your KitchenAid. Second, I would not suggest making them. For all the time I put in to make these balls, I was so disappointed. They are dry and really, really need something to dip them in for more flavor. May be able to salvage by making a sauce and serving them for dinner with pasta. Will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I really enjoyed these. I didn't stray too much from the original recipe, but following other people's advice, I brought it down to two (I used a tad bit more than two) cups baking mix. I also used 2 cups cheddar cheese and added about a cup of Manchego cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Always anticipated by the men and children in my family at the holidays. The best tip to avoid sticking and drain some of the grease is to crumple a piece of foil (heavy duty works best), stretch it out a little, leaving some texture in it. Spray lightly with cooking spray. The grease drains off into the nooks and crannies, and you can simply pick them off with tongs. I cut back on the baking mix to a little over 3 cups. I like JD sage sausage and mix a little cajun seasoning in the baking mix before adding the other stuff. Honey mustard makes a great dip for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
way too much baking mix! I ended up using this recipe but with 2 lb of sausage. Turned out fine! I wish I would have made them smaller balls though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Mmmm, mmmm good. These are great for breakfast or anytime. They disappear at parties so if you entertain with them make LOTS of them! No need to alter the recipe. I recommend that you use your favorite lean sage sausage & sharp cheddar for the best flavor. I use a butter scoop and usually get about 60 out of the 1/4/3 recipe that is posted. Enjoy! We do! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States