Easy Sausage Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I don't know what this recipe is like as written because I followed the advice of the other reviewers. I used 1 lb sage sausage, 1 lb hot sausage, 3 c. sharp cheddar, and 1-1/2 c. baking mix, and they were very good. I used the dough hook on my stand mixer, sprayed my foil with non-stick spray, and drained them on a paper towel - all great suggestions. I don't cook/eat greasy meat like this, but I was having a brunch and needed something to go with the Baked Omelet Squares (another fabulous allrecipe recipe). I tried a sausage ball before the brunch and couldn't believe how good they were. I'm giving this recipe 3 stars, but what came out of my oven (with the changes) was much better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Three stars for the recipe as written. Cut the baking mix in half and the world is good, 5 stars adapted! Also,after many times of peeling these off of the foil or scraping them off the bakeing sheet, have found that puting parchment paper down helps a lot and they come right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Yeah, cut the biscuit mix down to half. I do two pounds of hot breakfast sausage. I use sharp cheese and add 2 diced Jalapenos. Nice kick with the peppers and hot sausage. I did use 1/2 cheddar and 1/2 velveeta once, all I had. Just as good, and maybe a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Island Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I'LL GIVE 2 STARS because this recipe has the right basic (but bland) ingredients, but amounts and seasonings are way off. BEWARE folks - this recipe is only 1/3 right! A recipe rating is supposed to be for the recipe as IT is written, maybe w/some MINOR personal changes! I should have read the reviews before preparing, but with the four stars, I thought it would be a SOMEWHAT safe bet. WHOA! You reviewers that are changing the recipe SO much, yet giving it 5 stars, should submit your own winners - they are GREAT, those are the recipes that deserve 4-star ratings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This recipe turned out fantastic! I used others suggestions, 2lbs sausage, 1 1/2 cups bisquik, 3 C cheese , they turned out perfect! Will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I made these sausage balls for my husband's poker party and the guys loved them! I baked them earlier in the day and then heated them in a crock pot. After reading other reviews, I used 3 lbs. sausage, (2 regular, 1 hot) 3c Bisquick, and 6c of cheese. They turned out great! Be sure to spray non-stick cooking spray on the foil prior to cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I added 2 lb of sausage and kept the other stuff the same. They were okay, but not exactly what I was expecting. Also, I found them a bit bland, they definately need something else...I don't think I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This recipe made as listed is a disaster, only when you modify it does it become something good. 4 cups Sharp cheddar cheese, 1 pound of sage saugage, 1 pound of hot sausage and 2 cups of baking mix will give you the best sausage cheeseball you've ever tried. And don't forget to mix VERY well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This recipe has way too much baking mix and cheese. It did not congeal well at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
These were delicious! I used hot sausage and reduced fat cheddar along with bisquick. I don't measure anything, just kind of eyeball it but they were absolutely perfect! Thanks so much, our new favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States