Easy Sausage Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Geez Guys! I was in a hurry and trusted your 4 star rating without reading the reviews. My bad!!!!! Please rate the recipe as written! I wasted time and money on this one and had to come up with something else last minute to take to my party. As this recipe is written, it is a TOTAL disaster. You only taste the baking mix -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
As others have said, the baking mix needs to be cut to prevent the sausage balls from being too dry. I used a cup and a half of Bisquick-- I bought one of their smallest packages and just used the whole thing. I also used one pound of Jimmy Dean Sage sausage, two cups of mixed cheddar and monterey jack cheese, and I decided to add a half cup of milk to ease the mixing process and just a little worcestershire sauce for flavor. I browned the sausage in a skillet first, then mixed it with everything else in a bowl. I then formed it into balls and baked on a foil-lined, greased cookie sheet at 400 degrees for 14 minutes. They turned out wonderfully. I brought them to a party and not one was left; everyone complimented me for them. They make great appetizers! I am a beginner at cooking, but they weren't difficult at all. *****EDITING TO ADD***** I know some people have said to not cook the sausage first, but I still do it that way and still can't take them anywhere without being asked for the recipe. This is my go-to appetizer when asked to bring something to a gathering. Instead of fully draining the grease, I add a little into the mixture with a little milk as stated before, and that prevents them from being dry. I use Jimmy Dean hot sausage now instead of sage; it gives it better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
These are good if you dr. em up a little.. I ended up adding eggs to the mixture to make em stick... I froze the majority of them for two different parties... they were still just as great.. i got a lot of compliments off them and they were gone by the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Biscuit-mix sausage cheese balls are one of our family favorites for breakfast gatherings and holidays. I've found that this recipe will vary depending on where you live. Baking at higher altitudes, in general, calls for reducing the fat in recipes, increasing the flour (or biscuit mix), and adding a little liquid. So, living in Denver, I cook and drain the sausage, and add 3/4 cup water as I'm mixing everything together. I bake them at 450 degrees for 10-12 minutes. You may need to experiment with this recipe a couple of times to get the balance of ingredients just right for your location and your family's preferences. All the oooh's and ahhh's you'll get will be worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I made these over the holiday and they were just a great finger food. I put in fresh basil and parsley for 1/2 of the batch. These are addicting, you can't eat just one. I used very fine cheddar cheese and this made it easier to work with. You have to really work the dough for it to hold but it cooks up great. Make sure that you form small balls when making. I froze part of the batch after baking and will just heat them up and serve as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This recipe as it is is terrible. If you make it as the recipe calls, it is so dry the ingredients won't blend. At all! I added milk in order to to blend the ingredients. I also added diced onions and garlic salt for extra flavor. I added 1/2 cup milk and a handful of diced onions. I should have added more cheese as it is sort of dry and crumbly. I also recommend spraing your foil with some cooking spray or they will stick. The balls are delicious and even better when you zap them in the microwave. It almost brings out more flavor. My two year and eleven year old both LOVE these! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunshynGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
i used hot sausage and they were good. a little cakey tasting but thats due to the amount of baking mix. otherwise very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I wish I'd read the reviews before I made this. I made it as written and, yep, there is way too much baking mix; I should have cut it by half at least. They were ok but very dry, and not terribly flavorful. If I were to make them again I would add some garlic powder and Italian herbs. I think they would be good with marinara sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
We have used this recipe for years and just love it. We always use Jimmy Dean Sauage, and Sharp Shredded Cheese, and sometimes we will put in a bit of parmesan. If it is too dry we add a few drops of water. The JD Sausage has very little fat compared to most brands and we do not precook it. Its a Christmas Eve tradition in our house, have probably been making it for 20 years. Highly recommend it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Simply amazing, and simple to make. I use this recipe frequently when I'm asked to bring appetizers to a get-together. Instead of using three cups of Bisquick per pound of sausage, I used one cup, and it came out beautifully. I've been asked to make this recipe again and again. It's a great one to keep on hand in case of emergency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States