Easy Sausage Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
i used hot sausage and they were good. a little cakey tasting but thats due to the amount of baking mix. otherwise very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I wish I'd read the reviews before I made this. I made it as written and, yep, there is way too much baking mix; I should have cut it by half at least. They were ok but very dry, and not terribly flavorful. If I were to make them again I would add some garlic powder and Italian herbs. I think they would be good with marinara sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
We have used this recipe for years and just love it. We always use Jimmy Dean Sauage, and Sharp Shredded Cheese, and sometimes we will put in a bit of parmesan. If it is too dry we add a few drops of water. The JD Sausage has very little fat compared to most brands and we do not precook it. Its a Christmas Eve tradition in our house, have probably been making it for 20 years. Highly recommend it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Simply amazing, and simple to make. I use this recipe frequently when I'm asked to bring appetizers to a get-together. Instead of using three cups of Bisquick per pound of sausage, I used one cup, and it came out beautifully. I've been asked to make this recipe again and again. It's a great one to keep on hand in case of emergency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
These are great! An old trick my mother used to keep them from being too dry is add 1 cup of milk. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Not much flavor. I did what other reviewers said to do and did half of the baking mix. I just wanted something with a little more kick and not so dry. Good news is that my MOPS group ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Loved the taste of these! I gave this 4 stars because I think I need to tinker with this one a little bit. I followed another reviewer's advice to only use half of the baking mix but I think I might use 2 cups next time. I baked these in the oven, then put them into a crockpot to keep warm for our guests. Worked well except they melted into each other and stuck together. I baked one batch on parchment paper and the other on foil and the parchment paper was definitely the way to go - no sticking. I'll keep working on this in time to serve over the holidays, they have such a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I don't know what this recipe is like as written because I followed the advice of the other reviewers. I used 1 lb sage sausage, 1 lb hot sausage, 3 c. sharp cheddar, and 1-1/2 c. baking mix, and they were very good. I used the dough hook on my stand mixer, sprayed my foil with non-stick spray, and drained them on a paper towel - all great suggestions. I don't cook/eat greasy meat like this, but I was having a brunch and needed something to go with the Baked Omelet Squares (another fabulous allrecipe recipe). I tried a sausage ball before the brunch and couldn't believe how good they were. I'm giving this recipe 3 stars, but what came out of my oven (with the changes) was much better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Three stars for the recipe as written. Cut the baking mix in half and the world is good, 5 stars adapted! Also,after many times of peeling these off of the foil or scraping them off the bakeing sheet, have found that puting parchment paper down helps a lot and they come right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Yeah, cut the biscuit mix down to half. I do two pounds of hot breakfast sausage. I use sharp cheese and add 2 diced Jalapenos. Nice kick with the peppers and hot sausage. I did use 1/2 cheddar and 1/2 velveeta once, all I had. Just as good, and maybe a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Island Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States