Easy Sausage Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
This recipe is good if you use 1lb. of Jimmy Dean sausage, 2 cups of Bisquick, and 2 cups of sharp cheddar. We have been making these for years and they are so good. We always have water on hand and add a little at a time just to make it easier to mix. Makes all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
624 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
You should absolutely pre-cook the sausage. That way, you can drain the sausage and get rid of a lot of the grease. The mix it in with the cheese and Bisquick, and bake until golden brown. This is an easy, tasty appetizer that freezes well, so all you have to do is thaw them and pop them in the oven (or microwave, but oven is better) to warm them up. I do suggest using hot sausage, or a mixture of hot and sweet, because mild sausage makes them a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
There is way too much baking mix in this recipe. After I used it my mom told me she only uses 3/4 cup per pound of sausage for hers. I couldn't even get most of mine to absorb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This recipe turned out fantastic! I used others suggestions, 2lbs sausage, 1 1/2 cups bisquik, 3 C cheese , they turned out perfect! Will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
We have used this recipe for years and just love it. We always use Jimmy Dean Sauage, and Sharp Shredded Cheese, and sometimes we will put in a bit of parmesan. If it is too dry we add a few drops of water. The JD Sausage has very little fat compared to most brands and we do not precook it. Its a Christmas Eve tradition in our house, have probably been making it for 20 years. Highly recommend it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This recipe made as listed is a disaster, only when you modify it does it become something good. 4 cups Sharp cheddar cheese, 1 pound of sage saugage, 1 pound of hot sausage and 2 cups of baking mix will give you the best sausage cheeseball you've ever tried. And don't forget to mix VERY well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
These are exactly what sausage balls should be. They should be on the dry side, with crispy oozing cheese. I made mine exactly per the recipe with sharp cheddar cheese. If you want your sausage balls to look like meat balls, this is not the recipe for you. These are true southern goodness. I had to pack my ingredients together and room temperature sausage is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I don't know what this recipe is like as written because I followed the advice of the other reviewers. I used 1 lb sage sausage, 1 lb hot sausage, 3 c. sharp cheddar, and 1-1/2 c. baking mix, and they were very good. I used the dough hook on my stand mixer, sprayed my foil with non-stick spray, and drained them on a paper towel - all great suggestions. I don't cook/eat greasy meat like this, but I was having a brunch and needed something to go with the Baked Omelet Squares (another fabulous allrecipe recipe). I tried a sausage ball before the brunch and couldn't believe how good they were. I'm giving this recipe 3 stars, but what came out of my oven (with the changes) was much better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
After these were made, my boyfriend and I did not really like them. They were very dry and I thought the recipe called for too much baking mix. One of the other reviews said they were much better the next day so I waited to post my review. They are a lot better! I microwaved them to heat them up and could actually taste sausage and cheese this time. I would suggest if you're going to make these, to make them the day before serving and just reheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
Way to much bisquick mix, cut it in half and it will be wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States