Easy Sausage Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
My family and I love these! I make them every year at the holidays. I usually add a drop or two of milk to keep them from being too stiff. I use hot sausage and sharp cheddar cheese. I usually use Jimmy Dean sausage. I've never had any compaints on these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This recipe was easy and tasted great...the perfect appetizer for a chilly afternoon. I used a bit more sausage than the recipe called for, roughly 1/4 to 1/2 lb. more and also added maybe a tablespoon of milf to get the mixture to stick together a bit better. I also sprinkled the tops of the balls with paprika to add a punch of color. Everyone at the party loved them, especially the men! Thanks for a great and easy recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
peoeple at tailgate party loves them, added garlic power and lemon pepper for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOM LUSBY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owenton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
These are SO good! They are very easy to make, as long as you use your hands to mix them up. I used a lot less Bisquick, though. 1 cup to 1 lb. of sausage, then 2 cups of shredded sharp cheddar cheese. I also added a bit of milk for consistency, a little onion powder and a little garlic powder for flavor. My husband bragged on these at our party all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngiParker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Very good version of a great snack. Like other said I backed off the Biscuit mix to 3.5 cups. Then I used 1/2 hot and 1/2 mild sausage. I used Tennessee Pride. The cheese was sharp, 4cups. The trick is to MIX BY HAND until everything is mixed. I added a drop or two of water on my hands to keep it from sticking. Also I baked them a little longer as I make rather large balls and I wanted them done. Not greasy at all. I wonder if a food processor would have done the mixing better or at least quicker??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Russellville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I made this recipe using Bisquick, 1 pound of mild sausage, and 1 pound of Colby-Jack cheese. At first there wasn't enough moisture in the mix so I added a bit of water as I was kneading the dough. I flattened out the dough by hand, added cooked sausage, and topped with shredded cheese, then begain rolling it all together until well distributed throughout. I baked half of the balls, and froze the rest. I have to agree that perhaps sharp cheddar would have been better, and also a medium-hot sausage for more flavor. At any rate, it was still VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Wonderful recipe. I use a bit of water to help the mixture combine. Dont worry it doesnt change a think while baking. Use a good brand of sausage so there is less grease. Use a hot sausage for better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This recipe is good. I used Jimmy Dean 50% less fat breakfast sausage (uncooked), about 1/4 cup milk and a little onion powder. I lined my baking sheets with parchment paper for easier clean up. Using this sausage, there was not one drop of grease! They taste like a biscuit with cheese and sausage mixed in. Pretty good, but not fabulous. I might make them again. My 4 and 8 yr. old liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Since before I was born, these sausage balls have been a Christmas tradition for my family. I took over the tradition officially when I was about 10 and have been making them ever since, in fact I just took a batch out a few minutes ago! For a more flavorful sausage ball I always use hot sausage and extra sharp cheddar cheese. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This recipe as listed is not a good one. The BEST recipe for this is 2 packages hot ground sausage (or 1 hot/1 regular italian sausage), 1 package large shredded cheddar cheese and 2 cups bisquick, 20 min at 400 degrees. THEN they will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States