Easy Sausage Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I tried to follow the recipe to the letter because I, too, am used to the dry southern type. I only had 2 cups of Bisquick, though. They still turned out to be delicious!! I got lots of compliments on them, even from one of my pickiest friends! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
My family and I love these! I make them every year at the holidays. I usually add a drop or two of milk to keep them from being too stiff. I use hot sausage and sharp cheddar cheese. I usually use Jimmy Dean sausage. I've never had any compaints on these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This recipe was easy and tasted great...the perfect appetizer for a chilly afternoon. I used a bit more sausage than the recipe called for, roughly 1/4 to 1/2 lb. more and also added maybe a tablespoon of milf to get the mixture to stick together a bit better. I also sprinkled the tops of the balls with paprika to add a punch of color. Everyone at the party loved them, especially the men! Thanks for a great and easy recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
peoeple at tailgate party loves them, added garlic power and lemon pepper for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOM LUSBY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owenton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
These are SO good! They are very easy to make, as long as you use your hands to mix them up. I used a lot less Bisquick, though. 1 cup to 1 lb. of sausage, then 2 cups of shredded sharp cheddar cheese. I also added a bit of milk for consistency, a little onion powder and a little garlic powder for flavor. My husband bragged on these at our party all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngiParker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Very good version of a great snack. Like other said I backed off the Biscuit mix to 3.5 cups. Then I used 1/2 hot and 1/2 mild sausage. I used Tennessee Pride. The cheese was sharp, 4cups. The trick is to MIX BY HAND until everything is mixed. I added a drop or two of water on my hands to keep it from sticking. Also I baked them a little longer as I make rather large balls and I wanted them done. Not greasy at all. I wonder if a food processor would have done the mixing better or at least quicker??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Russellville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I made this recipe using Bisquick, 1 pound of mild sausage, and 1 pound of Colby-Jack cheese. At first there wasn't enough moisture in the mix so I added a bit of water as I was kneading the dough. I flattened out the dough by hand, added cooked sausage, and topped with shredded cheese, then begain rolling it all together until well distributed throughout. I baked half of the balls, and froze the rest. I have to agree that perhaps sharp cheddar would have been better, and also a medium-hot sausage for more flavor. At any rate, it was still VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Wonderful recipe. I use a bit of water to help the mixture combine. Dont worry it doesnt change a think while baking. Use a good brand of sausage so there is less grease. Use a hot sausage for better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This recipe is good. I used Jimmy Dean 50% less fat breakfast sausage (uncooked), about 1/4 cup milk and a little onion powder. I lined my baking sheets with parchment paper for easier clean up. Using this sausage, there was not one drop of grease! They taste like a biscuit with cheese and sausage mixed in. Pretty good, but not fabulous. I might make them again. My 4 and 8 yr. old liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Since before I was born, these sausage balls have been a Christmas tradition for my family. I took over the tradition officially when I was about 10 and have been making them ever since, in fact I just took a batch out a few minutes ago! For a more flavorful sausage ball I always use hot sausage and extra sharp cheddar cheese. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States