Easy Sausage Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This recipe as listed is not a good one. The BEST recipe for this is 2 packages hot ground sausage (or 1 hot/1 regular italian sausage), 1 package large shredded cheddar cheese and 2 cups bisquick, 20 min at 400 degrees. THEN they will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This is such an easy recipe and it's so good. Wether you choose to eat it right out of the oven, room temp or cold right out of the fridge as a snack. It's very flavorfull, will continue to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIRELLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I thought these were excellent! - They are like mini cheese/sausage biscuits. I added about a tbsp of onion powder to the mixture to help with flavor. I only added 1/4 cup of milk to help it stick together as suggested but probably could have done without it. I put the sausage into the bowel with the bisquick and finely shredded cheese while it was still hot (you must cook the sausage first) - this helped soften the cheese and make it easier to form into balls. 10 minutes in my oven at 400 degrees made them perfectly brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Thanks to all who gave advice on this recipe. I never had these before, but they were pretty good. I offer this advice. Only use 1-1/2-2 cups of Bisquick. When mixing, add a little water to help all the ingredients stick. Add a little PAM on a foil lined pan, and MOST IMPORTANT-Turn over the sausage so that it does not stick and please cook for 20 minutes so that it is thoroughly done. This was OK, but I will try another version in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
These are exactly what sausage balls should be. They should be on the dry side, with crispy oozing cheese. I made mine exactly per the recipe with sharp cheddar cheese. If you want your sausage balls to look like meat balls, this is not the recipe for you. These are true southern goodness. I had to pack my ingredients together and room temperature sausage is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Geez Guys! I was in a hurry and trusted your 4 star rating without reading the reviews. My bad!!!!! Please rate the recipe as written! I wasted time and money on this one and had to come up with something else last minute to take to my party. As this recipe is written, it is a TOTAL disaster. You only taste the baking mix -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
As others have said, the baking mix needs to be cut to prevent the sausage balls from being too dry. I used a cup and a half of Bisquick-- I bought one of their smallest packages and just used the whole thing. I also used one pound of Jimmy Dean Sage sausage, two cups of mixed cheddar and monterey jack cheese, and I decided to add a half cup of milk to ease the mixing process and just a little worcestershire sauce for flavor. I browned the sausage in a skillet first, then mixed it with everything else in a bowl. I then formed it into balls and baked on a foil-lined, greased cookie sheet at 400 degrees for 14 minutes. They turned out wonderfully. I brought them to a party and not one was left; everyone complimented me for them. They make great appetizers! I am a beginner at cooking, but they weren't difficult at all. *****EDITING TO ADD***** I know some people have said to not cook the sausage first, but I still do it that way and still can't take them anywhere without being asked for the recipe. This is my go-to appetizer when asked to bring something to a gathering. Instead of fully draining the grease, I add a little into the mixture with a little milk as stated before, and that prevents them from being dry. I use Jimmy Dean hot sausage now instead of sage; it gives it better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
These are good if you dr. em up a little.. I ended up adding eggs to the mixture to make em stick... I froze the majority of them for two different parties... they were still just as great.. i got a lot of compliments off them and they were gone by the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Biscuit-mix sausage cheese balls are one of our family favorites for breakfast gatherings and holidays. I've found that this recipe will vary depending on where you live. Baking at higher altitudes, in general, calls for reducing the fat in recipes, increasing the flour (or biscuit mix), and adding a little liquid. So, living in Denver, I cook and drain the sausage, and add 3/4 cup water as I'm mixing everything together. I bake them at 450 degrees for 10-12 minutes. You may need to experiment with this recipe a couple of times to get the balance of ingredients just right for your location and your family's preferences. All the oooh's and ahhh's you'll get will be worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I made these over the holiday and they were just a great finger food. I put in fresh basil and parsley for 1/2 of the batch. These are addicting, you can't eat just one. I used very fine cheddar cheese and this made it easier to work with. You have to really work the dough for it to hold but it cooks up great. Make sure that you form small balls when making. I froze part of the batch after baking and will just heat them up and serve as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States