Easy Sausage Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This recipe as it is is terrible. If you make it as the recipe calls, it is so dry the ingredients won't blend. At all! I added milk in order to to blend the ingredients. I also added diced onions and garlic salt for extra flavor. I added 1/2 cup milk and a handful of diced onions. I should have added more cheese as it is sort of dry and crumbly. I also recommend spraing your foil with some cooking spray or they will stick. The balls are delicious and even better when you zap them in the microwave. It almost brings out more flavor. My two year and eleven year old both LOVE these! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunshynGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
i used hot sausage and they were good. a little cakey tasting but thats due to the amount of baking mix. otherwise very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I wish I'd read the reviews before I made this. I made it as written and, yep, there is way too much baking mix; I should have cut it by half at least. They were ok but very dry, and not terribly flavorful. If I were to make them again I would add some garlic powder and Italian herbs. I think they would be good with marinara sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
We have used this recipe for years and just love it. We always use Jimmy Dean Sauage, and Sharp Shredded Cheese, and sometimes we will put in a bit of parmesan. If it is too dry we add a few drops of water. The JD Sausage has very little fat compared to most brands and we do not precook it. Its a Christmas Eve tradition in our house, have probably been making it for 20 years. Highly recommend it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Simply amazing, and simple to make. I use this recipe frequently when I'm asked to bring appetizers to a get-together. Instead of using three cups of Bisquick per pound of sausage, I used one cup, and it came out beautifully. I've been asked to make this recipe again and again. It's a great one to keep on hand in case of emergency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
These are great! An old trick my mother used to keep them from being too dry is add 1 cup of milk. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Not much flavor. I did what other reviewers said to do and did half of the baking mix. I just wanted something with a little more kick and not so dry. Good news is that my MOPS group ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Loved the taste of these! I gave this 4 stars because I think I need to tinker with this one a little bit. I followed another reviewer's advice to only use half of the baking mix but I think I might use 2 cups next time. I baked these in the oven, then put them into a crockpot to keep warm for our guests. Worked well except they melted into each other and stuck together. I baked one batch on parchment paper and the other on foil and the parchment paper was definitely the way to go - no sticking. I'll keep working on this in time to serve over the holidays, they have such a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I don't know what this recipe is like as written because I followed the advice of the other reviewers. I used 1 lb sage sausage, 1 lb hot sausage, 3 c. sharp cheddar, and 1-1/2 c. baking mix, and they were very good. I used the dough hook on my stand mixer, sprayed my foil with non-stick spray, and drained them on a paper towel - all great suggestions. I don't cook/eat greasy meat like this, but I was having a brunch and needed something to go with the Baked Omelet Squares (another fabulous allrecipe recipe). I tried a sausage ball before the brunch and couldn't believe how good they were. I'm giving this recipe 3 stars, but what came out of my oven (with the changes) was much better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Three stars for the recipe as written. Cut the baking mix in half and the world is good, 5 stars adapted! Also,after many times of peeling these off of the foil or scraping them off the bakeing sheet, have found that puting parchment paper down helps a lot and they come right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States