Easy Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Delicious. I will definitely make this cake again. I did a couple of things a little bit differently. Used pecans instead of walnuts, soaked the cake while it was still warm (I removed it first to make sure it would come out easily) and left it for a good hour or two, and once plated I drizzled more rum glaze on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I did not change a thing. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
fantastic! i was looking for a recipe that was similar to the one i usually use because my cookbooks are in storage at the moment! this went over well at the potluck i took it to, and i made it with gluten free mix. Im sure it would be just as good with regular mix so i give it five stars. also its fun to mix up the rum flavors, i like pineapple or pineapple coconut bacardi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Easy & delicious! Can definitely make some swaps (i.e. nuts, cake flavor, rum choice), but it's just what the doctor ordered to bring some Caribbean into this New England winter weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Used a sugar free cake mix and it still tasted great! New Year's Eve and there was no store open, so I used a sugar free yellow cake mix from Betty Crocker. The cake was still moist and delicious. I did aerate the cake with a fork before pouring the glaze. But next time I may try what some other reviews suggested....may try to pour glaze in the upside down pan while cake is still warm and see if more soaks in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Mays

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I made 10 of these this season to give as Christmas gifts! They were loved and gobbled by all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I made this with a red velvet cake mix. AMAZING....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is the one thing that I make that my grandmother approves! Instead of dark rum, I used flavored rum. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I could only find a cake mix that was 16.25 oz instead of 18.25. I added a little more than 1/4 cup of flour and 2 Tablespoons of sugar and left out one egg to balance it out. The cake was great, but I which I'd poked it more and let more of the glaze seep in. The glaze was really good, but didn't penetrate the cake enough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Great recipe. The one thing I change is to use a nice Amaretto liqueur instead of just rum. This takes the cake to a new level! This is my "go-to" dessert for adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States