Easy Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
This recipe really was easy. I am making it again for my christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
I have used this recipe several times. I find it makes a wonderful spread on wholemeal bread with some salad leaves, shredded carrot and cucumber, and as a dip for just about everything! I have tried it a few times with dried chick peas instead of tinned, and I found the flavour to be much less like that of something coming out of a tin, but with all of the additions, tinned chick peas are perfect too! I love it and the guests I have prepared it for have loved it too! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
i made this hummus as a class project for a 6th grade class and it ws gone after 10 minutes!! this is kid friendly and adult friendly. Everyone should try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
This was very tasty and exceptionally easy to make! I could not fing tahini in a small container so I made my own with roasted sesame seeds blended with olive oil in the food processer. Although this was tasty, you neeed to be careful to not over cook the seeds or else you will have a burnt taste. I also recommend a little less lemon juice. I thought it was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
Very tangy and yummy! I made the hummus in my blender and it worked very well. Thanks Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
This is by far the best hummus recipie I have made (and believe me I have tried a lot). It even tastes great without the red pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
This is awesome!! It gets better after sitting in the fridge. I attempted hummus one other time with a yucky mess...this is THE recipe for great hummus. It's basic, quick, and very flavorful. While my kids (2yrs & 5yrs) thought it was too garlicky, I thought it was exactly right (it also mellows a little after a day or two)Also, I don't buy tahini (since I can never find small amounts) I just toasted sesame seeds until fragrant (not browned) and whipped them into a paste with 1 tsp. oil and used that for my recipe. This will be a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Wonderful! Great for a take along! Fantastic flavor and very easy to prepare. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
I was unsure about red peppers in hummus, normally a favorite sammie filling for me, but I gathered up my courage and dumped them in anyway and am I glad! My children ate this up, my eight yo said she likes it better than our usual recipe and my toddler decided to forego the pita bread altogether and just eat the hummus with a spoon! I put it in sammies with kalamata olives, chopped fresh red pepper, chopped cucumber, feta cheese with lemon juice, olive oil and balsamic vinegar sprinkled on top. One problem with the instructions: the intro says bring to room temp before serving but the directions say to chill until ready to serve. Maybe you are supposed to keep your house very cold? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
This came out DELICIOUS!! I ate this stuff right from a spoon, and had to stop myself from eating too much! :) it was so easy to prepare, just threw everything into the food processor and refrigerated it for a few hours. i only used 2 TBSP of tahini, and used lime juice instead (that's all i had).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetneet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States