Easy Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
It's a good base recipe like the kind you get at grocery store delis. It needed herbs and spice. Thank you though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
We love hummus! but are very picky about certain flavors added to it. This turned out SO well! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I had to add oil because it was not creamy enough as is, and next time I'll scale back on the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
After reading the other reviews, I tweaked the recipe a bit. I started with 2 cups dried beans which I cooked and drained. I used 3 large cloves of garlic and 2 tbsp. of lemon juice. I used 2 red peppers which I roasted and peeled. I added 1 tsp. of salt and 3 tbsp. of olive oil and omitted the dried basil and tahini (I don't even know what tahini is). The humus turned out very good. I will be making all my own humus from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
It's an ok recipe. I prefer hummus to have more flavor and spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I didn't have tahini so I toasted some sesame seeds and crushed between two spoons. I also added a little olive oil to make it smoother as my sister had said she didn't like the texture. I had her try it and she ate most of it! Guess we fixed the 'texture' issue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Good recipe, although next time I will use only half of the lemon juice. The lemon taste overpowered everything. I added a teaspoon of cayenne pepper because we like it a bit spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hothilary36
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Hummus is one of those things you can change and play with and it becomes your own. I like this version except I had to play with it. Do not use basil, use paprika and cumin which is traditional to hummus. I love love the red peppers. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This has waaaaay too much lemon in it. I actually reduced it to 1/4 of a cup and the lemon was still over powering. It was also gritty, so I added olive oil until it was smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Excellent recipe. I used white beans instead of garbanzos because it was what I had on hand and it tasted wonderful, although I added more spices to taste (Penzey's Turkish Seasoning) and less lemon juice (2 Tbsp). Even in the blender it was smooth and had a lovely sweet and garlicky taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States