Easy Roast Leg of Lamb Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was one of the best Lamb recipes I ever made! My mother who doesn't eat Lamb said it was the best tasting meats ever! I added at least 10-15 cloves of garlic and then because my Lamb was 6 lbs I added 2 cans of Sauce. Cooked on low heat for about 1 1/2 hours for a total of 2+ hours. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I agree with another reviewer that cooking times "are never exact" as the meat and your own oven can vary by many minutes; always use a meat thermometer and cook lamb to 13-135 letting rest about 15 minutes out of the oven. Lamb shhoud be "crusty" on the outside and slightly pink in the middle. I thought this was a great basic recipe. I do like to roast lamb on a rack, over a pan which adds a "convection effect" on a standard oven. Even using true convestion, this meathod has turned out best for me. Again, nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Pickles Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Perfection! I have to comment on those who took the cook time so literally...the recipe comment says it requires "patience"...thus when it tells you what the internal temp. should be, then you simply must use a meat thermometer...experienced cooks know this. I use a meat thermometer for every kind or cut of meat I cook. I recommend a meat thermometer in every kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This is a great recipe! This is a very different flavor from what you would expect from in a lamb dish. I spice it up a bit with hot salsa in place of the tomato sauce, or by adding jalapeno pepers, and it is unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
So easy and soooo tasty. I added some potatoes and sweet potato into the pan along with some water and extra tomato sauce an hour before the lamb was ready. This allowed the sauce to soak into the potatoes and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I cooked this leg of lamb exactly as the preparations directions described, even though I question a baking time of 45 minutes @ 375 and then another 15 minutes.  The leg of lamb was raw and it ruined our New Years Day dinner.  I was very disappointed as was my family.  You need to be a little more specific for baking time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I found this extremely easy to make and very tasty. Absolutely delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
very easy. but lacked flavor. i think it would be better done on a bbq grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
This really is a special dish. It made my apartment smell so good, and I had my mother-in-law asking for the recipe.... that's how cooking should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Chicago, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
Very good, first time to eat lamb, was a little nervous but it turned out very good. I cooked it longer than the recipe suggests (2lb. roast in a crook pot for 4 hours).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States