Easy Roast Leg of Lamb Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I cooked this leg of lamb exactly as the preparations directions described, even though I question a baking time of 45 minutes @ 375 and then another 15 minutes.  The leg of lamb was raw and it ruined our New Years Day dinner.  I was very disappointed as was my family.  You need to be a little more specific for baking time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I'm giving this 5 stars on ease! The flavor is also very good. I doubled the garlic, used finely crush dried rosemary and sprinkled with some garlic salt after pouring on the tomato sauce. I suggest you keep a thermometer in the meat and keep an eye on it. Everyone's oven is a little different. 4 hours would have been way past well done for my roast. This is a fabulous roast for Sunday supper! I'll do it again and again..rave reviews from the family. Garlic, Italian herbs, cayenne, salt and olive oil on baby red potatoes is a great compliment..put into oven last hour of lamb roast. EASY and elegant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANINE PERKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clayton, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Easy and turned out fabulous! Family enjoyed. Added small red potatos to roasting pan. Will repeat again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SURFWENCH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
This lamb does not cook in 1 hour. It takes about 2 1/2 hours to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
rarely have I had such a treat for my taste buds. I made this dish on a whim and now my family wants med to make it atleast twice a month
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
Very good, first time to eat lamb, was a little nervous but it turned out very good. I cooked it longer than the recipe suggests (2lb. roast in a crook pot for 4 hours).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
This really is a special dish. It made my apartment smell so good, and I had my mother-in-law asking for the recipe.... that's how cooking should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Chicago, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I agree with another reviewer that cooking times "are never exact" as the meat and your own oven can vary by many minutes; always use a meat thermometer and cook lamb to 13-135 letting rest about 15 minutes out of the oven. Lamb shhoud be "crusty" on the outside and slightly pink in the middle. I thought this was a great basic recipe. I do like to roast lamb on a rack, over a pan which adds a "convection effect" on a standard oven. Even using true convestion, this meathod has turned out best for me. Again, nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Pickles Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
So easy and soooo tasty. I added some potatoes and sweet potato into the pan along with some water and extra tomato sauce an hour before the lamb was ready. This allowed the sauce to soak into the potatoes and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jolieny
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Roasting time way offff . I had it in the oven for 1 hour 425 and 30 min 400 came out medium rare . It was great coze i like med rare ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolieny

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States