Easy Risotto-Style Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Very good! I never leave well enough alone, so I used 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup of heavy cream. I also used way more parmesan than the recipe called for (1/4 cup or so). Oh yeah, and I doubled the garlic. This recipe was great for me for a couple of reasons - #1, I can never get the consistency of risotto right. This was perfect. #2, I never have the right rice for risotto. Being able to use long grain rice to make risotto was awesome! Definitely something I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I altered it to add more flavor and it turned out delicious: about 10 minutes into the cook time, I added about 1/8th a cup of Marsala wine, and a splash of cooking sherry. I also used 3 cloves of garlic (I love garlic!) and 4 cups of broth total. at the very end I added a can of drained mushroom stems and pieces. Turned out delicious and creamy with a great flavor from the wines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Great basic recipe. I think medium heat works best and I ended up adding almost 4.5 cups of liquid to get the rice cooked through. I doubled the garlic and Parmesan also. My kids loved it! I'm going to add mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Really salty. Will try with low sodium broth next time, and add a veggie like peas for some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This recipe needs a stove temperature. I cooked it on medium high, and it was still a little crunchy after the three and a half cups of broth. The only change I made was to use vegetable broth in place of the chicken. Overall, a tasty recipe, but will try it with more liquid or a different temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This recipe has great flavor, but it wasn't as creamy as I would have liked...I don't know if it was me, or the recipe though! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Easy and tasty! I didn't have chicken broth so used boullion, which I think made it a bit too salty. Next time I'll make sure to have broth on hand (probably low-sodium). A great, easy way to make plain rice more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I gave this 4 stars b/c its a great starter recipe, I added broccoli with some EVOO/butter garlic and lemon...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
this is a great recipe. it usually takes more chicken broth and cooks for longer than the recipe calls for. i have also discovered that it works great with brown rice if you want to make it a little healthier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by collegecook17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
My family thought it was bland, but I like it! It jazzes up white rice & is a quick, easy side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States