Easy Risotto-Style Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Very good! I never leave well enough alone, so I used 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup of heavy cream. I also used way more parmesan than the recipe called for (1/4 cup or so). Oh yeah, and I doubled the garlic. This recipe was great for me for a couple of reasons - #1, I can never get the consistency of risotto right. This was perfect. #2, I never have the right rice for risotto. Being able to use long grain rice to make risotto was awesome! Definitely something I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I altered it to add more flavor and it turned out delicious: about 10 minutes into the cook time, I added about 1/8th a cup of Marsala wine, and a splash of cooking sherry. I also used 3 cloves of garlic (I love garlic!) and 4 cups of broth total. at the very end I added a can of drained mushroom stems and pieces. Turned out delicious and creamy with a great flavor from the wines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Great basic recipe. I think medium heat works best and I ended up adding almost 4.5 cups of liquid to get the rice cooked through. I doubled the garlic and Parmesan also. My kids loved it! I'm going to add mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Really salty. Will try with low sodium broth next time, and add a veggie like peas for some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This recipe needs a stove temperature. I cooked it on medium high, and it was still a little crunchy after the three and a half cups of broth. The only change I made was to use vegetable broth in place of the chicken. Overall, a tasty recipe, but will try it with more liquid or a different temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This recipe has great flavor, but it wasn't as creamy as I would have liked...I don't know if it was me, or the recipe though! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Easy and tasty! I didn't have chicken broth so used boullion, which I think made it a bit too salty. Next time I'll make sure to have broth on hand (probably low-sodium). A great, easy way to make plain rice more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I gave this 4 stars b/c its a great starter recipe, I added broccoli with some EVOO/butter garlic and lemon...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
this is a great recipe. it usually takes more chicken broth and cooks for longer than the recipe calls for. i have also discovered that it works great with brown rice if you want to make it a little healthier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by collegecook17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
My family thought it was bland, but I like it! It jazzes up white rice & is a quick, easy side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States