Easy Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This recipe did not work for me. I made it as written and when it didn't thicken up and the rice still crunchy after the the time was up, I followed the other reviewers advice to try and fix it. It did thicken up but the rice never soften upped and I was unable to serve this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This is a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Sowa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Farge, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
incomplete recipe do not use it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Was not a success. Way too liquid. In the end had to double the rice and then it took twice as long. By the time is was finished kids in bed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I was looking for an easy recipe for rice pudding because I had finished up the store bought one that I was supposed to share with hubby. I was skeptical about this recipe. I did add about 1/2 cup more rice halfway through. The end result was perfect and delicious. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This recipe takes way too long. I ended up having to bake it for 3 hours. You are better off starting with cooked rice! It tasted very good but it was not really worth the wait. If you have time to kill then you may like this rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
OMG!! I made this with my son for his school project, and it was like soup and the rice was still somewhat hard!!!! Now what do i do make another batch???? He needs this for tomorrow!!! Not to happy about this :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
rice pudding is a typical desert in Egypt, my country, however none of the recipes i found on this wonderful site say how to do it the oriental way which is so easy. all u have to do is rince 1/4 of a cup of rice in cold water , keep rincing changing the water until clear. on the stove, combine rice with 4 cups of milk, and the amount of sugar that you judge appropriate, i usually use 1/4 of a cup, and a tsp of vanilla extact. simmer on low heat until the rice is coocked, then ad 1tbsp of cornflour or any other thickning agent used in the us, i dont know what is usually used,the cornflour should be previously dilueted in 5 tbs of milk so as to avoid clumping. once the cornflour is added, bring to a boil stirring until the mixture thickens and ad 2 tbs of rose water or orange blossom water, reduce quantity to a few drops if using rose essence. laddle into individual serving bowl. when cool, sprinkle with ground cinamon, grated coconut, raisins , ground almonds.... this is a typical egyptian rice pudding usually eaten during celebrations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This rice pudding recipe is pretty much just like the one I've been using for many years thanks to an old Homemaker's magazine. However, I use 500 ml of whole milk (half a quart?) and Italian style Arborio rice and cook it over the stove top on low (covered lid and stir occassionally) for about an hour. It thickens more as it cools. I add the vanilla about 5 minutes after it's cooked and sprinkle the cinnamon on top after putting in bowls. I've noticed many egg based recipes and frankly don't feel it necessary to try these as this recipe is tops for ease, taste and creaminess. Just make sure you use the Italian rice. I get tremendous feedback from others with claims that it's creamier and tastier than the Cozy Shack brand. Sometimes I add a dollop of whip cream on top of my bowl for extra indulgence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Wonderful! I did use short grain rice and I usually cover it the first half hour. The recipe works great with different combinations of canned milk or cream. My favorite is using vanilla soy milk. It turns out very creamy and is a great lactose free treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States