Easy Rice Breakfast Treat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I just made this and it's exactly what I was looking for! I bypassed the "making the rice" step as I had 2 cup cold, cooked rice in the fridge, added 1 cup milk, microwaved (stopping and stirring regularly). I did add 1 tbsp fine rice flour (with a little milk) to thicken it (as I like a creamier consistency). The spices were perfect. Added a few craisins, too. Mmmm! I will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I made this for my youngest son (age 5) who, like me, adores anything made with rice. I used Jasmine. We enjoyed this with a pat of butter added in. FYI, if you have a newer microwave like mine with high wattage DO NOT leave it in the microwave for 5 minutes. In my microwave liquid boils in 2 minutes. If I left milk ccoking in there unsupervised, I would have a huge, stinky, boiled over mess in way less than 5 minutes! The rice is already cooked, so just watch it and take it out every minute or so, until you have the consistancy you desire! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
My family really likes this recipe. My great grandma served it to me when I was little. The only difference we did was serve the rice hot with cold milk. It causes and interesting mix of both hot and cold, IF you eat it quick enough before the milk warms (which I like to do).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I have never eaten this type of food before now so I don't have anything to compare it to (like the other reviewers) I love it. I did follow advice of another reviewer and used brown sugar and rasins. But It would taste good without. The kids love it. I am glad I finally tried this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Lynn
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
So easy if you use leftover rice. (I probably would never make rice specifically for this.) It has a rice pudding feel but healthier for breakfast. It was good, but next time I will try brown sugar or maple syrup to sweeten to give it an even more breakfast like taste. Be careful using the microwave. I should have known better-- mine spilled over the sides at a little over 4 minutes. Next time I'll stop and stir halfway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
quite tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
With recipe found, I thought about my mother-in-law who perfected a rice and milk breakfast similar to this. Maybe my taste buds work differently than others as I found Nonei's recipe to be bland. Cloves were strong smelling in the zip-bag, but didn't add much taste to the cooked 'cereal'. Ended up adding 1 Tbsp white sugar - something was still missing, but didn't know what so left well enough alone. Printed recipe 4/6/09 and made 1/10/10. Didn't see 2 reviewers comments until I came on to put my '2 cents worth' in. If I make recipe again, I will cook rice same morning as I fix the "cereal". Rice was fluffy when cooked the night before. Refrigerating rice caused rice to be hard; it did not soften in hot milk. Instead of using microwave to heat milk and rice, I heated mixture in my double-boil pan - use it in making other hot cereals and it works great. Thanks for the opportunity of making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The King's kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This is one of my favorite comfort foods. We had this growing up, only with raisins and brown sugar. Like you would with oatmeal. My kids love it, too. Try it for yourself. It's a great way to use up leftover rice from dinner last night or takeout that you just didn't get to. NOTE: This is also good with maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Thank you so much for posting this recipe!!! My husband's mother used to make this for him when he was little with left over rice from the night before and it was wonderful to do it again. I really like the idea of nutmeg, and was sad we didn't have any, but it still was really good. Little changes I made were: did half white sugar and half brown sugar. And while I don't think it needs it, my husband's family adds about a T of butter, while I like adding a handful of raisins. YUMMY!! :) Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother2Be

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States