Easy Rice Breakfast Treat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
points off for using a microwave. I just cover and put the pot of leftover rice right in the fridge, then in the morning pour milk in it and heat it on the stove. less dishes, it takes the same amount of time, heats more evenly, and tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Jo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I have been making this for years! I always have pumpkin/apple pie spice on hand, which is essentially this mix of spices. The only differences between this recipe and what I make is that I use leftover rice, a little bit of butter, and I cook it in a pan on the stove. I mash the rice a little with the back of the spoon while cooking and it incorporates the starch from the rice into the milk. You can add fruit(i like cooked apples, my nephews like raisins or pumpkin puree) to personalize it for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I had leftover cooked rice and was looking for something easy that tasted like rice pudding. This recipe is perfect. I love that it has directions for making it in individual servings. I did use brown sugar instead of white, and added raisins to the rice and milk before I cooked it. So easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I just made this and it's exactly what I was looking for! I bypassed the "making the rice" step as I had 2 cup cold, cooked rice in the fridge, added 1 cup milk, microwaved (stopping and stirring regularly). I did add 1 tbsp fine rice flour (with a little milk) to thicken it (as I like a creamier consistency). The spices were perfect. Added a few craisins, too. Mmmm! I will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I made this for my youngest son (age 5) who, like me, adores anything made with rice. I used Jasmine. We enjoyed this with a pat of butter added in. FYI, if you have a newer microwave like mine with high wattage DO NOT leave it in the microwave for 5 minutes. In my microwave liquid boils in 2 minutes. If I left milk ccoking in there unsupervised, I would have a huge, stinky, boiled over mess in way less than 5 minutes! The rice is already cooked, so just watch it and take it out every minute or so, until you have the consistancy you desire! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
My family really likes this recipe. My great grandma served it to me when I was little. The only difference we did was serve the rice hot with cold milk. It causes and interesting mix of both hot and cold, IF you eat it quick enough before the milk warms (which I like to do).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I have never eaten this type of food before now so I don't have anything to compare it to (like the other reviewers) I love it. I did follow advice of another reviewer and used brown sugar and rasins. But It would taste good without. The kids love it. I am glad I finally tried this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Lynn
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
So easy if you use leftover rice. (I probably would never make rice specifically for this.) It has a rice pudding feel but healthier for breakfast. It was good, but next time I will try brown sugar or maple syrup to sweeten to give it an even more breakfast like taste. Be careful using the microwave. I should have known better-- mine spilled over the sides at a little over 4 minutes. Next time I'll stop and stir halfway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
quite tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
With recipe found, I thought about my mother-in-law who perfected a rice and milk breakfast similar to this. Maybe my taste buds work differently than others as I found Nonei's recipe to be bland. Cloves were strong smelling in the zip-bag, but didn't add much taste to the cooked 'cereal'. Ended up adding 1 Tbsp white sugar - something was still missing, but didn't know what so left well enough alone. Printed recipe 4/6/09 and made 1/10/10. Didn't see 2 reviewers comments until I came on to put my '2 cents worth' in. If I make recipe again, I will cook rice same morning as I fix the "cereal". Rice was fluffy when cooked the night before. Refrigerating rice caused rice to be hard; it did not soften in hot milk. Instead of using microwave to heat milk and rice, I heated mixture in my double-boil pan - use it in making other hot cereals and it works great. Thanks for the opportunity of making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The King's kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States