Easy Rice Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2001
I am on a Wheat and Dairy Free Diet for my Rhuematoid Arthritis and this recipe was great for me. It actually tasted normal and my family REALLY couldn't tell the difference!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
For gluten-free bread, this is 5 stars all the way...with some changes. The mix was too dry for me too, I added at least an extra cup of water. I left out the milk powder as we can't have it, worked fine. I baked it 325 degrees in my convection oven for 45 minutes and it was perfect. Even after cooling it's great, with a texture very similar to heavier whole wheat bread, which I love. I am thrilled to have this recipe. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is the first time I've made GF bread with yeast and I appreciated the extra tips about what the consistency should be. Dense but lightly sweet. It's a keeper. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I liked this recipe very much. I used four eggs instead of the egg substitute and olive oil instead of walnut oil. The texture is dense but for me that was a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ichiberry
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This was delicious! It actually wasn't as hearty as I'm used to, but in my opinion, the heavier the better. I tweaked the recipe a bit, anyway. When I made the dough, it was too dry to even be a regular dough consistency, much less one leaning toward a batter. So I used a total of a cup and 3/4 of water, including the amount listed in the recipe, but I'll probably use 2 cups even next time. I didn't have any egg substitute, so I left it out, and used olive oil instead of walnut. I used another reviewer's recommendation, and preheated the oven to 170°F (the lowest it would go), turned it off, put in the dough, and let it rise for an hour. Then I baked it at 325°F for about 45 minutes. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This is by far the best tasting, best textured rice bread I have tried. However, I had to make it twice because it was my first time making bread, and I didn't know that the yeast had to be activated in sugar and water first - the recipe makes no mention of it. Maybe that could be added for other first-time breadmakers? I too, found that an extra cup of water was needed. Without it it was as dry as pie dough. Other than those notes, the bread is fantastic! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was a great recipe for gluten free bread. I did take other people's suggestions. I soaked the rice flour in the liquid for 20 minutes, no dry milk and 4 eggs instead of the egg substitute. Rising takes a good amount of time. But everyone loved it here. Tastes great toasted with clarified Butter. Good for Nomad Genotype dieters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Because the rice flour contains no gluten, it will not rise as high as regular bread --- but if you add more liquid such as water, you might need to feed the yeast a bit more by adding a bit more sugar. Good recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Matthews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
The bread tasted very good. I used coconut oil, honey for sweetner, and substituted 2 Tbsp white rice flour with sweet rice flour and 1/4 cup of oat flour for the brown rice flour(I was out). I am dairy free so I substituted almond meal for the dry milk powder and the bread was very soft. The only reason I give it 4 stars is the recipe is too vague I added a about 2 1/4 cups of water,in total I think I just kept adding because it seemed too dry compared to other gluten free bread recipes. If I would have know how much water I was going to have to add I would have not added the 1/4 cup of oat flour since I was out of brown rice flour. I baked it in a bread machine for 50 min at 340 degrees.I do love that it does not contain refined starches and still made a good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2000
Find a way to test for doneness; for me the center was not cooked enough. Taste is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States