Easy Rice Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ichiberry
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This was delicious! It actually wasn't as hearty as I'm used to, but in my opinion, the heavier the better. I tweaked the recipe a bit, anyway. When I made the dough, it was too dry to even be a regular dough consistency, much less one leaning toward a batter. So I used a total of a cup and 3/4 of water, including the amount listed in the recipe, but I'll probably use 2 cups even next time. I didn't have any egg substitute, so I left it out, and used olive oil instead of walnut. I used another reviewer's recommendation, and preheated the oven to 170°F (the lowest it would go), turned it off, put in the dough, and let it rise for an hour. Then I baked it at 325°F for about 45 minutes. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This is by far the best tasting, best textured rice bread I have tried. However, I had to make it twice because it was my first time making bread, and I didn't know that the yeast had to be activated in sugar and water first - the recipe makes no mention of it. Maybe that could be added for other first-time breadmakers? I too, found that an extra cup of water was needed. Without it it was as dry as pie dough. Other than those notes, the bread is fantastic! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I liked this recipe very much. I used four eggs instead of the egg substitute and olive oil instead of walnut oil. The texture is dense but for me that was a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is the first time I've made GF bread with yeast and I appreciated the extra tips about what the consistency should be. Dense but lightly sweet. It's a keeper. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Hi, I haven't tried this recipe yet, but I have tried a bunch of rice only bread recipes. A few tips that work on bread in general. I will try this recipe in a week or so. But I wanted to leave some tips. Use a thermometer and when the internal temp reaches 190oF then the bread is done. Also I preheat the oven to 150oF. Turn it off, put the bread dough in and it rises quite well. Or if it is over 100oF outside, I put it in the sun with plastic wrap over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was a great recipe for gluten free bread. I did take other people's suggestions. I soaked the rice flour in the liquid for 20 minutes, no dry milk and 4 eggs instead of the egg substitute. Rising takes a good amount of time. But everyone loved it here. Tastes great toasted with clarified Butter. Good for Nomad Genotype dieters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
The flavor was fine, but the texture was really mealy. It would probably help to soak the rice flour first. I did add an extra cup of milk judging from the other reviews. I omitted the milk powder. The dough turned out really well. I wish I could say the same for it after it was baked. Because of the texture it wasn't even good for toast. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
For gluten-free bread, this is 5 stars all the way...with some changes. The mix was too dry for me too, I added at least an extra cup of water. I left out the milk powder as we can't have it, worked fine. I baked it 325 degrees in my convection oven for 45 minutes and it was perfect. Even after cooling it's great, with a texture very similar to heavier whole wheat bread, which I love. I am thrilled to have this recipe. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2001
I am on a Wheat and Dairy Free Diet for my Rhuematoid Arthritis and this recipe was great for me. It actually tasted normal and my family REALLY couldn't tell the difference!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2000
Found the mix to be very dry. Had to add 2 cups of water to make it manageable. It would help to give a length of time to bake, since there is no way to check if it is done. For some reason the bread did not double in size at rising, perhaps to much water was added? After baking the centre was still very moist and chewy. The bread itself has a very good flavor and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States