Easy Rhubarb Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This is a great recipe for a quick jam. I've always known this as "Sunshine Jam" when my mom made it when I was growing up. I love this on toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I made this recipe for the first time and it tasted great and my husband loved it too. I don't like rhubarb but it was very delicious. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by fancy
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I used two packages of knox gelatin (be sure to soften in water before adding to hot mixture)and one of strawberry jello. This is by far the best recipe for Rhubarb Jam, yet so simple to make. Try adding some walnuts too! Ohhhh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I love the flavor and ease of this jam, but it was way too sweet for me. I cut the sugar in half and only used 1 3oz. pkg. of strawberry jello and 1 envelope of Knox unflavored gelatin. I also added 1 quart cut fresh strawberries and cooked it just a few minutes longer (for the berries). With added fruit it yeilded 8 - 8oz jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
SO EASY!! Even if you've never made jam or done any canning before, you can do this recipe! I was a little worried that it would be too sweet since a couple other reviewers said it was but it is PERFECT!! My son, who loves strawberry rhubarb jam ever since someone gave us a jar as a gift, thinks I am the greatest since I can now make his favorite jam!! I will be making this jam all summer! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOUNDMYZEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Honestly, this doesn't even deserve one star. Let me tell you why. So, after reading other reviews I decided to cut back on the sugar too. But I only added 2 1/2 cups of sugar to 5 heaping cups of rhubard. Just so I could add more sugar as I wanted. Once it was all cooked down, I tasted it to see it to see if I wanted more sugar. It was so sweet I couldn't even eat it, it made my teeth hurt. And it still called for mooorrreee sugar. So I went to the store and got five more stalks of rhubarb, added that, and added the zest of a lemon and lemon juice. I didn't even add the jello for fear of how much sweeter it would be. It is still so sweet no one will eat it. If you actually made the recipe like it called for, I can't even imagine. I am going to try and use all the 'jam' I made as a glaze on meat. Move on, do not make this unless you like your jam pure sugar with no rhubarb flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
great.. amazing not just as a jam but it's fantastic on pork as a glaze... no fooling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This is the best Rhubarb jam I have ever tasted. We can't stop eating it. It is also so simple to make it's unbelievable. I will be planting more rhubarb next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
I thought this was pretty good jam and liked the combination of fruit. I did cut back on the sugar some and still found it too sweet for my taste. Will add more rhubarb and less sugar next time. Jars sealed properly and the texture was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
Five stars because family loved it. Got about 6 regular jars worth, as recipe says. Froze three container's worth in plastic containers and filled 3 (unsterilized, but washed by hand) jars with the hot jam liquid and stored the jars in fridge. Jars seal themselves if mixture is hot enough, I did not know that, so don't let it cool down too much before you put it in the jars. The jam gets quite thick in the fridge, almost a solid hunk, but you can spread it. One complaint - I would like more rhubarb flavour from a rhubarb jam, it's quite sweet and tastes more of the jello or the pineapple...but it does taste GOOD. Maybe reduce sugar or try a less sweet jello flavour? Add more rhubarb? I'll mess around. So much rhubarb to use, anyways...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States