Easy Refrigerator Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This has to be the BEST pickle I have ever had and oh so easy to make. A great Bread & Butter kicked up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I would say leave out the cloves as some others have suggested. I followed the recipe EXACTLY.. which is the only way you should rate a recipe.. I made two batches, using the exact indgredients and to one batch I added crushed red pepper flakes, a teaspoon. The next time, and there will be a next time, I would leave out the cloves, add garlic, jalapenos and a touch of red pepper flakes. Also I would cut down on the sugar. I'm not into the sweet as much as the savory, but the sweet to offset the heat would be great! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcheak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Versailles, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Made these last summer; first time making ANY kind of pickles. I just harvested first pickling cucumbers from the garden and will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitelotuskim

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Love these! They are sweet and delicious, and remind me of the "bread and butter" pickles my great-grandma used to make. A really great way to use up extra cucumbers from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Despite cutting back the sugar I think they are a bit too sweet. But my wife loves them! I think next time I will further reduce the sugar. These will definetly be a regular in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
These are pretty good- and easy to make, but I have to agree they are a bit too sweet, so I would cut the sugar also like others have said. I also left out the cloves because I don't care for them, but I don't think that would have factored in on the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I thought this recipe was just OK, not really good. My wife did not like it at all. The taste was not what we expected. Too muchTurmeric and clove and not enough vinegar taste to suit us. If you make it cut the recipe in half. This makes way too much for just a few people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fenwickbob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
These pickles are so yummy, but if you are doing only cucumbers and onions, you are missing out on some fabulous pickles. We add zucchini, yellow squash, bell peppers, jalapenos, carrots, cucumbers, onions, green beans, pretty much whatever is in the garden or refrigerator. They are great with splenda or sugar. Cinnamon is also a yummy addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I also replaced the spices called for with pickling spice! Delicious & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joan
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
These turned out great. After a couple of hours I pulled out much of the onion because I did not want too much of an oniony taste just because we are not onion fans. They reminded me of a fresher, crisper, little more vinegary tasting bread and butter pickle. I did leave the clove out since I have never been a clove fan in pickles. Next time I would add more mustard seed just because I like to bite into them. Just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garfield, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States