Easy Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
Very disappointing. Cake was dry and pretty tasteless. Next time the shortcut-free recipe will be used. Live and learn. ;-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
The taste was ok, but to me it was dry. My daughter liked it; she is the red velvet nut around here. I made it for her birthday. Will keep searching for something better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Very good not to be homemade.Fooled everyone but my Mom. I added 1 1/2 tsp. almond extract. Made in tube pan and used cream cheese frosting. Definately a keeper when you don't have time to bake scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I made this cake twice in a couple of days (for two different parties) and it was wonderful. Very moist. I bought sour cream icing for the frosting but it will probably be just as tasty without the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This cake was excellent! I made this for my boyfriend for his birthday, and he loved it! Very tasty, especially with home made cream cheese frosting. Could hardly tell the difference between this and a made-from-scratch red velvet. I am not a very experienced cook, so I was a little afraid to try to make red velvet cake the hard way, but this is a very simple and tasty alternative! I definitely recommed to everybody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Epworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Cake was definately yum, but not a true red velvet. Made it layered, with white chocolate cream cheese frosting. Sooo simple, worth making for sure, and I will make it again, however, I'll alter the recipe some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This was my first Red Velvet cake so perhaps I am not the best judge. The recipie was easy but the taste was not outstanding. My husband, who loves cake, was not thrilled by this either. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
I thought that this cake came out really good. I did add a little bit of this..and a little bit of that here and there.. I'm bad at that.:) But.. anyway, I definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
A very good and easy cake recipe for red velvet except I did not find it as satisfying as the "Hershey" homemade version. Still worth trying for a quick & easy fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
I made this for a friend's birtday and Red Velvet Cake is his absolute favorite. Everyone at the party raved over it, and the birthday boy said that it was the best he'd ever had, and he eats it every year on his birthday. It was really really easy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastian, Florida, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States