Easy Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I made this cake for my boyfriend for Valentine's Day. I don't really understand how some people thought this had a horrible taste, it's just cake mix plus chocolate pudding! I only used 50 drops of red food coloring so it wasn't very red, and had some problem getting it out of the pans because the cake is less dense than a plain cake mix. However, it tasted very good and went well with cream cheese frosting. You couldn't even tell where the cake had been pulled apart when coming out of the pan. Next time I'll probably just bake it in a 9 by 13 pan so I can just leave it in the pan to frost and serve! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This was such a waste of ingredients- not worth the effort. The texture looked similar to playdough after it was cooked- I couldn't even get all the neighborhood kids to eat it. Bad flavor, texture. Skip this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Soooooo MOIST! My boyfriend and I LOVED it! And apparently so did my roomate, she ate 1/4 of the cake in one sitting! This is a great recipe for if you are short on time and/or patience... I actually used 5oz. of non-instant chocolate pudding, because that's all they had at the store, (and I don't know how to count oz.) I did as a lot of other people did and used a cream cheese frosting recipe. 5 STAR! I will be making this recipe again, and I think I will do as one reader suggested and try adding just a pinch of powdered sugar and a few drops of vanilla to this cake mix. Muncha! Muncha! Muncha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Perfect! Red "Cheat" cake was always my birthday cake request from my Grandma. We had a house fire a few years ago & sadly, I lost her recipe. This is it! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This cake ranks a 5 for the simplicity and ease, but only a 2 for the taste, it was a little below average. It is simple to make, and it turned out moist -almost TOO moist, therefore it was a bit heavy, and I had to adjust the baking time -this is probably due to the fact that the cake mix I used, already had pudding in the mix. I noticed many people noted the "extras" that they added. I think the part that puzzled people the most, were the instructions -perhaps they didn't read them?- overall this would be a recipe that a young teen could make, but it wouldn't be anything I personally would not make again -it didn't have that "red velvet" cake taste. It just pretty much seemed like a milk chocolate cake tinted red, instead of a cake w/ more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I substitued French Vanilla cake mix for the white. This made it very moist. It turned out to be the easiest and best Red Velvet Cake I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barbourville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
I made the cake with the changes suggested by another user: I added 1 cup sour cream, 1/2 cup water, 1/3 cup Veg. Oil, 3 Eggs, 1 tsp. Vanilla. It was just okay - not something I would make again and definitely not something that got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
GO EAGLES! Insted of red velvet I made these into green velvet cupcakes for Super Bowl Party at work and they were a hit. Simply switch red for green food coloring. I used a mock whipped cream frosting recipe that has been in my family for years. Thanks for the short cut. EAGLES all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
I should have read the reveiws first. The ones who liked it made substantial changes. This was nothing like red velvet and had none of the proper flavor nor texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
I could not fine my 'Quick Velvet Cake' recipe; therefore, I added to this one. The cake was moist, delicious, and everyone asked for the recipe! This is what I did: I added 1 cup sour cream, 1/2 cup water, 1/3 cup Veg. Oil, 3 Eggs, 1 tsp. Vanilla to the box of White Cake Mix and Chocolate pudding. I did not use buttermilk. When I make a Red Velvet Cake I use half of the amount of red food coloring the recipe calls for. Why? Because I do not like the taste of it! Give this a try---you will be glad you did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States