Easy Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Nothing like true Red Velvet Cake, tastes like what you would expect, a heavy chocolate pudding cake. Not a bad recipe, but definitely not Red Velvet Cake. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
THIS WAS NOT A GOOD SUBSTITUTE FOR RED VELVET TO ME - MY HUSBAND LIKED IT FOR WHAT IT WAS- IT WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER WITH HOMEMADE FROSTING- I CHEATED AND USED STORE BOUGHT- WOULD NOT MAKE AGAIN- THANKS FOR LETTING ME TRY YOUR RECIPE-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
There was NO flavor. It's not even close to red velvet. I even used 2 puding mixes. Very dissapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I agree with the previous review.....it WAS very easy, but the taste was just not there. I would have preferred to spend more time and get a better tasting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCBMOM99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
The only reason I gave this recipe a 2 was for how moist it is. It is NO where NEAR being a true Red Velvet cake. A true Red Velvet cake is blood red, moist and has a "tang" to it given by the buttermilk and vinegar. I was so disappointed in this and this is the first recipe I have used from this site that I wasn't raving about. This is NOT close to being a Red Velvet cake. Sorry!!! NO GO!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This is a great recipe for a quick and easy red velvet cake. I decided to make cupcakes last-minute for a friend's birthday and needed something special but not too labor-intensive and this was perfect. I used the whole 1 oz bottle of red food coloring and though the batter looked sort of pinkish, it baked up quite red (not as dark as a true red velvet cake though). I used cream cheese frosting (I use a plastic bag with a corner snipped out as a piping bag and swirl the frosting on; it looks fancy and is actually a lot faster, easier and less messy than frosting with a knife!) and also topped with some red sprinkles. I received a lot of compliments and the cupcakes themselves were soft and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
i love this recipe! it's so easy, and makes a delicious and moist cake. i added 3 tbsp powdered sugar and 1 tsp vanilla like somebody suggested. i also frosted it with cream cheese icing (8 oz cream cheese, 1/2 c. butter, 1 tsp vanilla, 4 c. powdered sugar), and it was even more delicious. my only complaint was that i baked it in 2 8-inch pans and it had really high, rounded tops. maybe if i made it in bigger pans it wouldn't do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
My husband's favorite cake is red velvet, so I decided to make one for his birthday--New Year's Eve. It turned out great and was nice and moist. I'd definitely do this cake again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayandkim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoopeston, Illinois, USA
Living In: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by megs
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I was looking for a recipe to make fast and easy red cupcakes for a playoff party (Go Flames Go)and this was it. I decorated them with bright yellow frosting and some flaming C's and they were ready to go. In terms of taste I thought they were only okay, not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States