Easy Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Good cake. Not exactly authentic but a tasty quick and easy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cakes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Nothing like true Red Velvet Cake, tastes like what you would expect, a heavy chocolate pudding cake. Not a bad recipe, but definitely not Red Velvet Cake. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
THIS WAS NOT A GOOD SUBSTITUTE FOR RED VELVET TO ME - MY HUSBAND LIKED IT FOR WHAT IT WAS- IT WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER WITH HOMEMADE FROSTING- I CHEATED AND USED STORE BOUGHT- WOULD NOT MAKE AGAIN- THANKS FOR LETTING ME TRY YOUR RECIPE-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
There was NO flavor. It's not even close to red velvet. I even used 2 puding mixes. Very dissapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I agree with the previous review.....it WAS very easy, but the taste was just not there. I would have preferred to spend more time and get a better tasting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCBMOM99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
The only reason I gave this recipe a 2 was for how moist it is. It is NO where NEAR being a true Red Velvet cake. A true Red Velvet cake is blood red, moist and has a "tang" to it given by the buttermilk and vinegar. I was so disappointed in this and this is the first recipe I have used from this site that I wasn't raving about. This is NOT close to being a Red Velvet cake. Sorry!!! NO GO!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This is a great recipe for a quick and easy red velvet cake. I decided to make cupcakes last-minute for a friend's birthday and needed something special but not too labor-intensive and this was perfect. I used the whole 1 oz bottle of red food coloring and though the batter looked sort of pinkish, it baked up quite red (not as dark as a true red velvet cake though). I used cream cheese frosting (I use a plastic bag with a corner snipped out as a piping bag and swirl the frosting on; it looks fancy and is actually a lot faster, easier and less messy than frosting with a knife!) and also topped with some red sprinkles. I received a lot of compliments and the cupcakes themselves were soft and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
i love this recipe! it's so easy, and makes a delicious and moist cake. i added 3 tbsp powdered sugar and 1 tsp vanilla like somebody suggested. i also frosted it with cream cheese icing (8 oz cream cheese, 1/2 c. butter, 1 tsp vanilla, 4 c. powdered sugar), and it was even more delicious. my only complaint was that i baked it in 2 8-inch pans and it had really high, rounded tops. maybe if i made it in bigger pans it wouldn't do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
My husband's favorite cake is red velvet, so I decided to make one for his birthday--New Year's Eve. It turned out great and was nice and moist. I'd definitely do this cake again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayandkim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoopeston, Illinois, USA
Living In: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States