Easy Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Great Cake i did baked it for sweetest day. I always read at least 20 reviews before making a recipe, i take from everyone suggestions and i always end up with a great, delicious, dessert! the cake was moist, light, sweet, just perfectly velvetti! i added a handful of Hershey Cocoa Powder + hope this helps+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4mujeres

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I made the cake with the optional ingredients WILDDAYCARE recommended and the cake was dense and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This cake turned out great! I made it over the holiday weekend with cream cheese frosting it was a total hit! Great great great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I was amazed at how easy it was to make this cake. My family enjoyed it and they could not tell that it was a box cake. Thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
doesnt taste bad but doesnt exactly taste or look like a red velvet either, even after adding food coloring the cake still looked like a chocolate cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I followed this recipe as written and FINALLY found a Red Velvet Cake recipe that's a keeper! I prefer a heavier, denser cake and found this to fit that bill. Frosted the cake with cream cheese frosting and kept refrigerated until served. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Great recipe,simple & a nice moist cake although I did add the suggested sour cream & about 1/4 cup oil & vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I rated 4 stars as is, because I made several modifications to this recipe. I made the same subs as others, (cake mix, chocolate pudding, 1c sour cream, 1/3c oil, 3 eggs, 1/2c water, 1tsp vanilla) but also suggest adding 1-2Tbs cocoa powder (depending on how much chocolate flavor you want). I also added 1oz. Red Food Coloring. I make cupcakes because I can freeze some and eat a few right away. These cupcakes were perfect, and that's according to someone who loves Red Velvet cake, and his co-workers. I frosted these cupcakes with White chocolate cream cheese icing (I used the icing from the "Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Cream Cheese Icing" recipe found on this site (minus the orange extract, 4oz chocolate, 16oz cream cheese and 4Tbs heavy cream). These cupcakes were fabulous and this recipe was a big hit, and in no way felt like the science project that a traditional Red Velvet Cake recipe may have been. *Note: You should not freeze cream cheese icing, so if you intend to use this icing and freeze cupcakes you will need to freeze cupcakes without icing and make fresh icing when u want to thaw them later or make a different icing that you can also freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I made pretty much the same substitutions as many of the reviewers, adding 1/3 c oil, 1/2 c water, 3 eggs, the chocolate pudding mix, and 1 tsp vanilla to the cake mix. I also added about 1 1/3 c sour cream to finish off the container, and a bit of sugar (1/4 c) to counteract the extra sour cream. And it was FABULOUS. The cake was definitely moist enough and was just scrumptious. Yes, this is the lazy way out and I do have a feeling that if I slaved over a from-scratch red velvet recipe all day, it probably would have been better. But listen, this took me all of 10 minutes...and I LOVED it. So there :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
this cake is delicious and super easy to make!! it was my first time baking red velvet cake and everyone loved it!! i went by the revisions that called for sour cream. i will make this for the holidays from now on! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States