Easy Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I added alittle powdered sugar and some vanilla as suggested and it was delicious! What a treat for my daughter's birthday! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Makes GREAT cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Nothing special, but then again I'm not a huge fan of cake to begin with. I have had a few recipes that knocked-my-socks-off, but this was not one of them. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This recipe makes fantastic cupcakes! I used french vanilla cake mix and added substituted a little extra buttermilk vs. water and these turned out great! In addition, this recipe was so simple as compared to red velvet from scratch. I definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I loved the texture of this recipe but was very dissapointed in the taste. I did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
easy i used frozen whip topping for iceing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish
Home Town: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Moist, light and very fluffy, all a plus. But the lack of any real flavor other than sweet cake mix is definitely a real minus. I had no illusions about this tasting like red velvet cake, so I didn't even bother adding the red food coloring. But I did expect an interesting flavor - milk chocolate, maybe, because of the white cake mix and chocolate pudding? Another thing I expected and this recipe confirmed, is that buttermilk is a real asset in a cake mix (just as it is in most baked goods). In this case, as mentioned above, this meant a light, fluffy, moist cake. I used the batter for cupcakes and topped them with a chocolate cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I picked this recipe because I've been dying to have some red velvet but just didn't have the time to do a real one. It was pretty good, you could definately tell it was a cheater red velvet but it still tasted great. It did take longer to cook than the cake box instructions said, about 10 extra minutes which made the top a little hard. I was layering the cake though so I just cut it off anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
The cake tasted fine, but nothing like red velvet cake. Don't get your hopes up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DEBBIEMARIE470
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I needed to whip up a batch of red velvet cupcakes for a 40th birthday party...the hostess of the party provided this recipe. I am so glad she did. These will be made frequently in my house. So simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States