Easy Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Yes .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bertha Gutierrez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Omg, One of my favorite cakes is red velvet cake but when I'm busy doing other things I have to eat the storebought dessert version. So now that I know a quicker way to make it life has been more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This cake was soooo DRY! It tasted very good, but even with cooking it less than the suggested time it turned out very dry. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I tried this cake, with all of the substitutions suggested by the user wilddaycare which included adding 1 cup of sour cream, 3 eggs, 1/2 cup of water, 1/3 cup of veg oil, 1tsp of vanilla flavor, and I used 1/2 bottle of red food coloring and it was the perfect tint. I give the cake 3 stars because based on the revisions I made, the cake was very, very moist and good, however, it tasted NOTHING like a red velvet cake. I honestly don't think it would have been anything compared to this without the revisions. My husband said it tasted like a chocolate cake that so happen to be red lol. The texture of the cake was different. I will try the recipe again, but will try other substitutions suggested by other users such as using buttermilk instead of water, possibly adding coa coa and a little vinegar. Oh I made cream cheese frosting fro scratch so this made the cake even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tnc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I read all the reviews for this cake and decided to try it. I made on exactly like it said then i continued on n tried what others suggested which made my family very happy cause they got their favorite cake over n over. Everyones turned out great i even adde cherry juice n chunks of cherries in the batter we loved it. So to the person who wrote it down thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I'm sorry to say I didn't try the original recipe. I used the adjustments that wilddaycare suggested. It won a taste test over the old Betty Crocker recipe with 8 testers ages 54 to 2yrs old:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather
Home Town: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elverson, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very moist although it lacked cocoa flavor so i added a tablespoon of unsweetened cocoa powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I tried the Recipe yesterday, and added 1.5 tsp of Vanilla flavoring and made 24 small fabulous cupcakes, I used a cream cheese icing, and shaved white chocolate over them... tasted really good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Blessedandhighlyfavored A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
My family loved this cake. It disappeared in two days. This one is a keeper for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I followed the recipe. It was perfect, simple but moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States