Easy Red Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This rice was not great. It was definitly lacking in flavour and needed something to give it a kick. I will try it again, but will add some spices like garlic, flaked peppers or chili flakes to give it a kick. Otherwise it is pretty boring and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Hi, Di :) Wow! Believe me, it's not often I get something I made called "bland," lol. That's OK; I'll admit, this rice recipe doesn't have a great deal of "kick" on its own; it's not supposed to. Then again, a lot of the meats I serve tend to have a lot of herbal-spicy goodliness going on in them and in order to not overpower my guests, I serve this as a counterpoint. Absolutely, there are times I also add a bit of dried red pepper flakes or even lots of roasted garlic to this recipe -- but it's flexible that way. Thanks for your review :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Magpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Callaway, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Although I like spicy, my husband and son are more bland types, so this recipe was perfect! It's a great way to use up extra tomatoes, and you can always spice it up if you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Great with my spicy chicken enchiladas, I paired this with a spinach/tomato salad topped with guacamole sauce. Easy and great tasting. A family favorite. Thanks, Magpie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I made this with the basil and garlic chicken recipe for my parents. It was delicious they loved it! At first I thought there were way too many tomatoes but it turned out perfect. Easy, quick and delicious dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Loved this! Made it with tomatoes from a local farm, served with tenderloin. I think this may be really good as a the rice for a stuffed pepper?? May try that next time. Thumbs up from my picky vegetarian daughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Delicious!! I made it as a side dish to a venison roast. I made a few changes. I used a garlic oil I had on hand and added some frozen chopped spinach to it while cooking. I also used brown rice which required some extra water while cooking and took about twice as long to cook. My 3 yr old and 5 yr old really enjoyed it, especially the 3 yr old who came back for a heaping seconds! Thanks! I will be keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Read the other reviews and added a little more flavor w/garlic, cumin and jalapenos, and used vegtable broth. A note to Newbie- I hope you know that chicken broth isn't vegetarian! You said your picky veg daughter liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Perfecto! This is very similar to a rice dish that I make regularly. It's delicious! I find that it lends itself to easy and quick variations and is a fabulous side. So easy to adapt to various tastes! I use half brown and half white rice, I do add a bit more chicken broth then and cook a tad longer - Exellent recipe, Easy on time, easy to put together and easy on the budget!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
My husband loved this rice dish. It was super easy to make. I used a couple of leaves of fresh basil instead of dried. It worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States