Easy Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I didn't have kielbasa on hand, so I cooked a German sausage. I used rotel with green chilis to make it more spicy, which it did! I will be making this again, but next time as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimnan
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Excellent taste, but I had to cook the full amount of rice and cut the rest of the recipe in half to balance out the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Very easy but needs creole seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I really enjoyed this! Used Hillshire farms smoked turkey sausages, but it was only 13 oz, and next time I will use an actual kielbasa for a less sweet sausage. I also used a can of Ro-Tel tomatoes with chilies instead of the whole tomatoes. I'm not sure if it was that, or the black pepper, but it was pretty spicy for my wimpy tastes! I even had used "mild" Rotel....I really liked it though, and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Pretty good. My kids loved it! I didn't have the canned tomatoes so I used a fresh one and added chicken broth towards the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
only use 1/2 C rice to 1C. water, 1 can beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Based on other reviews, I knew this might be a bit bland for my liking, but I thought it was a good starting point (I wasn't going for "traditional" at all here). I ended up building in more flavor after tasting it half way through the simmering time. Ingredient changes are as follows: I used 2 cloves of garlic, diced canned tomatoes, 2 tsp Weber's N'Orleans Cajun Seasoning, 1-2 tbsp apple cider vinegar (sounds weird, but just trust me on this one) and served it over brown rice. Seriously delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
The dish was edible, however, I will not be making this again. I kicked it up with the addition of cayenne, but found it to be dry, not very saucy. And I agree with other reviewers that tomatoes seemed out of place. Not impressed what so ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Mmmmmm. Used hot Italian sausage for my meat lover ( I picked out the sausage). Used red pepper and one onion and lots of garlic. After reading reviews decided to go with tomatoes because I love them. Stuck with the 2 cans of beans. Also added a little soffrito (?) that I found in the Goya section of market. Lots of oregano, a little cumin and a bit of cayenne on top of salt and pepper. Covered and cooked for 15 and then a few more minutes uncovered. It was a huge hit. I added avocado to my sausage-less portion and I was so happy. The hubs loved and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
it is mardi gras right now and allrecipes listed this as a recipe of the day. wow, it is the furthest thing from cajun red beans and rice......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States