Easy Pumpkin Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is a good simple recipe to get some healthy pumpkin into my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRALH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This was a pretty straightforward, easy to prepare dish. It also tastes wonderful! Obviously like pumpkin pie, but this is a nutritious side dish as well; pumplin is a great source of fiber and vitamin A. A big plus is that kids will like this too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I was looking for a way to incorporate pumpkin with rice, so I decided to try this. It tasted pretty good, but didn't go well at all with my meal I planned. It is very sweet, pretty much just tastes like pumpkin pie, which I expected but I didn't think it would be AS sweet. I felt like I should have eaten it for dessert instead of a side dish. It's worth a try, but remember it tastes sweet like pumpkin pie when planning your meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Easy to make. I used brown rice instead of instant rice. I was pleased to have a new flavor of rice pudding. T
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rebeqah
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Overall we liked this but it is easier to make rice pudding and less expensive. But if you want something with pumpkin for what ever reason like a "pumpkin" party then this is an easy dish to make. It almost was a 4 stars. I would give it 3 and 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeqah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
The flavors were fine, but the texture was bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Awesome! My 15 month old devoured it --- anything that can cause that reaction and still provide vitamins gets a thumbs up from me! I even cut down on everything because I only had a 15oz can of pumpkin on hand. Still yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksteve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Instead of using instant rice, I used brown rice and water. I cut the recipe in half and cooked the brown rice with a ratio of 2:1. After the rice was cooked, I stirred in the pumpkin puree (I used organic pumpkin puree), the original amount of pumpkin pie spice and only about a scant 1/4 cup of brown sugar and a couple tablespoons of butter (we're watching our calories/sugars here). I served it with a float of fat free half-n-half on top. This was quite good, even with my adjustments. This was a great way for me to get extra vitamins into my kids and to use up pantry ingredients to make a filling and tasty breakfast. Next time, I may add a chopped apple or a handful of organic raisins. I also think this might be good with an egg thrown in and a little vanilla, to add a little more protein and to fake you out to think you're having rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I meant to follow the recipe when I made this, but the pumpkin puree I thought I took out of the freezer ended up being mashed sweet potatoes. I made it anyway, adding some pecans and a little heavy cream, and it made a nice breakfast. I will have to try this again with pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Not much more than just sweet rice. It's missing something. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States