Easy Pumpkin Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I was in a similar situation and had rice and pumpkin in the fridge and not much else. This is sort of a pumpkin rice pudding in my opinion. We had a greater rice to pumpkin ratio. Also, based on other reviewers, cut down the sugar by 1/2 cup and didn't miss the extra sugar at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Not much more than just sweet rice. It's missing something. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I meant to follow the recipe when I made this, but the pumpkin puree I thought I took out of the freezer ended up being mashed sweet potatoes. I made it anyway, adding some pecans and a little heavy cream, and it made a nice breakfast. I will have to try this again with pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Instead of using instant rice, I used brown rice and water. I cut the recipe in half and cooked the brown rice with a ratio of 2:1. After the rice was cooked, I stirred in the pumpkin puree (I used organic pumpkin puree), the original amount of pumpkin pie spice and only about a scant 1/4 cup of brown sugar and a couple tablespoons of butter (we're watching our calories/sugars here). I served it with a float of fat free half-n-half on top. This was quite good, even with my adjustments. This was a great way for me to get extra vitamins into my kids and to use up pantry ingredients to make a filling and tasty breakfast. Next time, I may add a chopped apple or a handful of organic raisins. I also think this might be good with an egg thrown in and a little vanilla, to add a little more protein and to fake you out to think you're having rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Awesome! My 15 month old devoured it --- anything that can cause that reaction and still provide vitamins gets a thumbs up from me! I even cut down on everything because I only had a 15oz can of pumpkin on hand. Still yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksteve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
The flavors were fine, but the texture was bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rebeqah
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Overall we liked this but it is easier to make rice pudding and less expensive. But if you want something with pumpkin for what ever reason like a "pumpkin" party then this is an easy dish to make. It almost was a 4 stars. I would give it 3 and 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeqah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Easy to make. I used brown rice instead of instant rice. I was pleased to have a new flavor of rice pudding. T
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I was looking for a way to incorporate pumpkin with rice, so I decided to try this. It tasted pretty good, but didn't go well at all with my meal I planned. It is very sweet, pretty much just tastes like pumpkin pie, which I expected but I didn't think it would be AS sweet. I felt like I should have eaten it for dessert instead of a side dish. It's worth a try, but remember it tastes sweet like pumpkin pie when planning your meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This was a pretty straightforward, easy to prepare dish. It also tastes wonderful! Obviously like pumpkin pie, but this is a nutritious side dish as well; pumplin is a great source of fiber and vitamin A. A big plus is that kids will like this too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States