Easy Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Don't add eggs or oil!! Have a little bit of faith - it's an anomoly, but they don't need added liquid. Set aside everything you know, and just do it - experience the miracle! I make this recipe even easier by buying the pumpkin pie filling instead - no spices needed, just cake mix and pumpkin. Make it the right way, first - without the eggs! It's part of the beauty of this recipe, don't miss out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
701 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I LOVE these! Yes, the batter is stiff (more like drop biscuit dough in texture) and the muffins are not as pretty to look at, but you just can't beat 'em. They're quick and easy, have lots of fiber, and they're unbelievably moist! (If yours are dry, just underbake them slightly.) Here are a couple of tips: Skip the spices and just use spice flavor cake mix. Same flavor, but quicker! Also, try making these with dark chocolate cake mix. You absolutely cannot taste the pumpkin! They taste a lot like brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
350 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The (Almost) Amazing Mammarino

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Turned out pretty well, but the recipe itself is flawed. As is, this recipe makes batter that is very dense, not the consistency of muffin batter. I added 2 eggs and about 1/3c vegetable oil to make the batter better, and about 3/4c chopped walnuts for fun. I also would have liked about twice as much of the seasonings for more flavor. Overall ok, nice and moist but not a strong pumpkin flavor. Finally, these were enormous muffins, but still cooked completely for the recommended 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
These muffins turned out great! Only suggestion... is I sprinkled a little brown sugar on them to get a crust/crunch... I love muffins with a crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
These muffins are marvelous! I made them using a spiced cake mix, and they came out SO good. With just 2 ingredients, the prep time is about 3 minutes, and two of those minutes are spent filling the muffin cups! We will be making these again, and again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colonie, New York, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I used a spice cake mix and a 15 oz can of pumpkin. The muffins turned out great, very moist. It is hard to believe that the can of pumpkin will provide enough moisture, but it did. I will be making these AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajlog78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seffner, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Absolutely fabulous! I used a spice cake mix with a can of pumpkin. The recipe says EASY and it is. For a mother of three, one of which has a serious egg allergy, this recipe is a godsend. All three kids ate them up and asked for more. I am constantly experimenting with egg replacer powders and cannot believe how well these muffins stayed binded and puffed up without egg or a replacer! They are dense, but great! I cannot wait to try the many possible variations and additions(raisins, chocolate chips etc). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Ok, I wouldn't go so far as to say they're the best muffins I've ever had, but they are so easy to make and what a great way to sneak some extra vitamins and fiber into the family diet. I've made them with chocolate cake mix, spice cake and yellow cake. All are good. I even tried frosting the chocolate ones and they totally taste like yummy cupcakes. I make these about once or twice a week. My kids love 'em. I use mini muffin pans mostly which only need 15 to 17 mins to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
These were incredibly easy and delicious, likd by all ages. I made them into 4 dozen mini-muffins, cooking 15 minutes. Also instead of all the different spices, I just used 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. I like pumpkin, but don't love it, so I appreciated the mildness of it. My husband who doesn't even like pumpkin liked these! I plan on experimenting with different cake mixes, adding white chocolate chips, or maybe spreading with cream cheese. My daugher wanted them with ice cream! :)They are good hot or cold. These would be good to send in lunchboxes or take to brunch or as a gift to someone sick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
I took a lot of advice from previous reviewers. I used lemon cake mix because that is what I had and I liked the flavor. I also made mini muffins and only cooked them for 15 minutes. I'm only giving these 3 stars (an average rating) because the batter is dense and so the tops of the muffins don't turn out smooth like regular muffins. Maybe moisture from water or oil would help. Form the blobs of batter neatly into the cups because they tend to come out the way you formed them from the spoon, jagged and awkward. Nevertheless, they are moist, tasty and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States