Easy Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I made these with the prescribed amount of pumpkin & yellow cake mix (no spice to be found at the stores) and used 2 tbsp pumpkin pie spice in lieu of spices the recipe calls for because I didn't have any of it individually. I also added one egg and a tablespoon of vanilla. I haven't tried it without the egg, so I couldn't say whether that's better, but my batter was very dense anyway. I also topped with brown sugar per some other reviews - definitely do this! It makes them look so much more appealing. I would add that you should sprinkle it on when you put them in the oven and not wait for them to bake a little while like I did. Very good (got rave reviews) but in MY opinion it's missing something... maybe a little acid? Nuts? Also I agree they are a little on the bland side even with my doctoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
The mood suddenly hit me for some pumpkin muffins and I came here for a different recipe - one I have used often with good results, but more labor involved. Then I saw this! I couldn't pass up something so simple. This was SO easy and tasted good! I made 18 regular sized muffins, and put chocolate chips into a third of them for something special for the kids. I made a quick streusel topping for the remaining. The recipe was so simple that I just couldn't help myself and needed to do something more, lol! (2 tbsp softened butter, 3-4 tbsp brown sugar, 1/4 c. each of rolled oats and flour, sprinkling of cinnamon or whatever spices you prefer) If you make pumpkin muffins from scratch often, you might be disappointed if you compare the two - they will not be the same texture, heartiness, etc. But, for something quick, these are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Don't add any eggs! I hate baking but this recipe made it so EASY. Very moist and yummy. Now, let's see if the 2nd graders will like it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I made these but used the Pillsbury No Sugar Added Yellow Cake Mix and it is heavenly! Wonderful for those of use who are dieting and/or have diabetes. I also used 15 oz homemade applesauce in it and they were good too! The pumpkin ones end up being between 10 and 15 calories a muffin depending on there size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I just made these and they are delicious. Usually I am a 100% from scratch baker, but decided to try these because I wanted something quick. I added 1 one egg, used 2 tablespoons pumpkin pie spice and 1 teaspoon vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I used spice cake and pumpkin pie filling and baked in mini muffin pans. At 15 minutes they were a bit too moist for me so I cooked the rest at 17 minutes. I thickly sprinkled brown sugar on top of 1/2 of them and that gave it a muffin taste with thick crust. On the other half, I put an orage glaze which gave it more of a cupcake flavor. I liked both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This recipe is incredible! I have made it with spice cake, adding a little extra pumpkin pie spice, raisins and walnuts; lemon cake mix, adding nothing and getting a great light lemon/pumpkin flavored muffin; and chocolate cake mix, adding mini chocolate chips and getting a great, moist chocolate muffin without a hint of pumpkin. I've made 6 large or 12 small muffins from the recipe. If you don't like the lumpy top, smooth out the batter with a wet finger.Thank you CindyCosta for a real keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianFoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I used a Dark Chocolate Fudge cake mix and the 15 oz can of Pumpkin. Added about 1/2 c. of water and a handful of mini semi-sweet chocolate chips. YUMMY! Very moist and rich - a great treat for my children's lunch boxes. I've used spice cake in the past and it turned out great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KKCOBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
For the simplicity of the recipe I think this is a great muffin. I did add about a quarter cup of applesauce and left out the nutmeg. I used a French vanilla cake mix. Sprinkling powdered sugar on top definitely improves the presentation. I can't wait to try with chocolate like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
These are simple ,moist , and taste great..all you need is yellow cake mix and can of pumpkin. I freeze them and take out in the morning. I make these with nuts and choc chips..excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States