Easy Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I only had a white cake mix on hand and no nutmeg. After reading some of the reviews, I added one teaspoon cinnamon and one teaspoon pumpkin pie spice. I had cloves on hand, so I put in a dash, but you wouldn't have to. I also added on tbl oil and 2 tbl water. I had walnuts, so I threw them in too. Then I smoothed out the tops by running the back of a tablespoon around the muffins after filled. I also sprinkled them generously with brown sugar before baking, following another reviewer's advice. I baked them the full 22 minutes and they were awesome!! They taste and looked great. They would be good enough to take to a bake sale!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
These muffins were wonderful! Ok, I have to admit that I didn't use pumpkin. I was looking for a recipe for "muffins" which took a cake mix. I used 3 mashed bananas, 1 egg and 1/4 cup oil with the cake mix. (And no pumpkin) I baked it the same and these are the most delicious muffins I have ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
These were delicious, soft, and so easy to make! We thought about using pumpkin pie spice instead of the three spices mentioned, but stuck with the original recipe and it turned out great! The next time we added some chocolate chips which really made them outstanding! Mmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Has anybody tried this recipe with a sugar-free cake mix? I did this morning and they seemed a little dough-y, even though the toothpick came out clean. Suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sullivan, Missouri, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This is a great base recipe, after reading suggestions these were the changes I made: 1 box spiced cake mix, 2 eggs, 1/3c oil, 3tbsp brown sugar, extra nutmeg and cinnamon to taste and 1 peeled & grated zucchini (for an extra healthy boost) They came out moist and light and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I was surprised how tasty these were! Was a bit concerned about the texture, but it was pretty good as well. I used what I had on hand which was a Golden Vanilla cake mix and a teaspoon of Pumpkin Pie Spice and adding 1/3 cup ground pecans. Gonna try with raisins next. I frosted half of them with cream cheese frosting. Thanks for sharing a simple recipe that is also quick and delicious. Sharing my pics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Only change I made was to add 1 cup of applesauce per other reviews. Used the lowest fat yellow cake mix I could find (1.5 grams). Made mini muffins. Very moist - so yummy - my daughters love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
We've made these a dozen or more times--we have a good friend who has milk and egg allergies! SO GREAT AND EASY! I use a store-bought chocolate cake mix (instead of yellow) and don't mention the pumpkin--and the kids love my "Ugly Chocolate Muffins." I've never figured out how to make the dough (and thus final product) look pretty, but they taste great. I've tried it with and without the spices--it's better with, but kids still like it without. Spice cake is a better option than yellow, but chocolate gets the best feedback from my kids. We have also, on occasion, added mini chocolate chips with success. However, once I tried substituting a gluten-free cake mix and it went terribly (didn't cook right, had weird consistency, and the kids refused to eat them). Overall, a HUGE success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
The trick is to beat on medium speed until fluffy, the recipe is not flawed it is fabulous; as is!! If you want to add something, add ground flaxseed and a little plain greek yogurt for protein and fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Really moist and easy. I also made this as mini muffins and cooked them 10 minutes. Great flavor- yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 680) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States