Easy Potato Salad with Dill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Love this! Thanks for sharing! Used lemon cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I thought this tasted good. I liked how fairly quick it was to make and that it had a crunch, but not from raw celery and onions. I did only get about 3 servings though. After I started making it I realized I only had 1 green onion, so I just used that. For the dill I subbed 2 small pinches of dry as it is more affordable and what I had on hand. I also cooled the potatoes, ran them under some cold water, and then refridgerated them after draining for about 1 hour. For the dressing I used white wine vinegar with lite mayo. However, I think I would prefer the cider vinegar and regular mayo. My dressing got a little thin, which I believe was from using lite mayo. That was my fault though. Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Hooray! an easy, simple and delicious recipe that deviates from the norm. I love dill and decided on a whim this morning to add it to my basic recipe, but then got a little nervous about the outcome. Lo and behold, I found your recipe which confirmed my hunch that it was a good idea! I'm going to add the green onion and cucumber instead of the usual yellow onion and celery. What's funny too is that I also use apple cider vinegar in my recipe. Great minds think alike. Fantastic!! thanks. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I had only russet potatoes, so that's what I used, and I had no fresh dill, so used dried. For our taste, 2 Tbsp cider vinegar was too much because it really thinned out the dressing (it was almost like a salad dressing) and was a little too tart for us...I added a pinch of sugar. I compensated on the dressing consistency by adding more mayo which yielded a nice smooth dressing that wasn't falling off of the potatoes. This was a nice change from the typical mayo-based potato salad, and in the future, I will reduce the vinegar to 1 Tbsp. Thanks, bonmot, for sharing your recipe. UPDATE 8.17.12 I had some left from dinner and was surprised this morning when I looked in the fridge that it held up great! Wondered if the cukes would break down overnight, making it runny. It looks exactly like it did yesterday. Sooooo you can make it ahead of time with no concern that it'll be runny the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
We had this tonight because it had no celery and it was very tasty! I had to make a couple of substitutions based on what I had: rice vinegar for the cider vinegar and bell pepper for the cucumber. We will definitely have this again because it is super easy and we normally have some type of crunchy vegetable on hand. It paired very well with roasted red pepper grilled chicken and grilled corn - the mild vinegar really complemented the rest of the meal. We will definitely have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Needed a quick side to make with a can of diced potatoes. Made this recipe subbing with 1/2 lite and 1/2 low fat mayo, chives and a cucumber from the garden, dried dill, let sit for about 20 minutes and was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hayes, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This was so yummy. I substituted bell pepper for cucumber because that's what I had on hand. The only problem I had was that I couldn't stop eating it and I had to scold my boyfriend for sneaking bites before dinner. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angall7

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I had fresh dill that I needed to use up and this seemed like a simple recipe, so I went for it. This was very easy to make, with few ingredients and was exactly what I was looking for… tangy, creamy and delicious. I do not miss the mustard or celery at all. My husband and I both agree that this will become our go to recipe for potato salad. Thank you so much for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I substituted new potatoes and a half teaspoon of dried dill. This is an excellent salad, and the longer you leave it in the fridge, the more the flavors blend together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States