Easy Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This is the best and easiest base recipe for the soup I wanted. I substituted a few cups of chicken broth for part of the water, and I diced the potatoes instead of slicing and mashing. I also added carrots, garlic to taste, and shredded cheddar. I also chopped up a package of pre-cooked bacon and added it. It was a hit. Everyone had 2 to 3 bowls of it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I used half of all the liquids for a thicker, heartier soup. Overall, it's a very easy and tasty soup to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Great, basic, easy to make with whatever you have on hand! We used cream of mushroom soup b/c it was available & just added various shredded cheeses. For extra seasoning we used half a powder packet of Lipton's Onion & Mushroom soup. So good & will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2000
Didn't have too much of a cheese flavor. It needs more flavor and too be creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I added 4 carrots to the soup as well. It made a good, hearty meal. It also freezes quite well to store all the left overs. I truely enjoyed this soup. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Based on the original recipe, I have to give one star. A potato cheese soup, in my mind should A) be thick like mashed potatos, and B) have a cheesy flavor. This had neither. I took the advice of other reviewers and halved the liquid, but I still had to add some cornstarch to thicken it something more resembling something you eat, not drink. I also had to add a lot of seasoning to make this flavorful, and add shredded cheese to the final product. This was really disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Very good soup, but fairly thin if made the way it is written. I would half the cooking liquid next time, for a thicker soup. Otherwise very good. Takes alot of salt to season. Cannot really taste the cheddar soup, but it thickens it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I've made this several times for potlucks and it always gets rave reviews!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This is my first recipe here on allrecipe.com! I don't really like thin soups, so I read a review on here and just use half of the ingridents it asked for. The Creamy Cheese Soup is what really made it good!!! I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
My family loved this soup. I added a little cilantro to it to give a little more flavor and it was great. This soup even freezes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bells, Texas, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States