Easy Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Tried This Out One Night, And Oh My Gosh!!! It's Fast, Easy As Can Be, Wonderful Tasting, Another Comfort Food Recipe For The Recipe File! Thanks AllRecipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I made this recipe, using some of the suggestions from other reviewers and LOVED it. I used half the liquids, and substituted chicken broth for half of the water. I also added some carrots. I had no fresh onion, so had to substitute dry onion flakes. Would have preferred the fresh, but it worked out fine. Added shredded chedder to the top. Hubby liked it, and I took some to my mom and she liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Loved it. I used just enough chicken broth to cover the veggies. Removed some of the soft veggies from the pot and then blended. I also added a few pieces of velveeta queso cheese slices. I used 2% milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I made this soup and wow it was great all my family loved it im cooking it again right now thanks for the receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was a great base recipe to use what you have on hand. I cut the water in half like the other reviews mentioned. I only had one can of cheddar soup, so used one of Cream of Celery. I added a little shredded cheddar and used potato flakes to thicken it up. It works great. Tasted wonderful and both kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Great, basic, easy to make with whatever you have on hand! We used cream of mushroom soup b/c it was available & just added various shredded cheeses. For extra seasoning we used half a powder packet of Lipton's Onion & Mushroom soup. So good & will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Very good soup, but fairly thin if made the way it is written. I would half the cooking liquid next time, for a thicker soup. Otherwise very good. Takes alot of salt to season. Cannot really taste the cheddar soup, but it thickens it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I've made this several times for potlucks and it always gets rave reviews!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Based on the original recipe, I have to give one star. A potato cheese soup, in my mind should A) be thick like mashed potatos, and B) have a cheesy flavor. This had neither. I took the advice of other reviewers and halved the liquid, but I still had to add some cornstarch to thicken it something more resembling something you eat, not drink. I also had to add a lot of seasoning to make this flavorful, and add shredded cheese to the final product. This was really disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Loved it!! was a big hit with my husband and brother when i served it with fried shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States