Easy Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This recipe definitely is easy! Plus it's just as the submitter describes - good, simple, and inexpensive which is just what a pot roast should be as it's classic comfort food. I chose to cook mine in a slow cooker vs. the oven. And, I also subbed a can of beef broth for the water as it brings out more of the beef flavor plus it makes for some really good gravy. I left out the potatoes, celery, and carrots and instead put the roast on a bed of portabella mushrooms. I cooked it low and slow for 8 hours and it was falling apart and above all delicious - perfect with mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2002
My husband and I loved this recipe. It was even better the second night. I added a can of cream of mushroom soup to the bag and it made a delicious gravy. I also increased the cooking time to almost 3 hours and did mashed potatoes instead of cooking them with the roast. I always made my roasts in a crock pot and they cooked so long that the meat was dry and had a weird texture. This is a new favorite! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
My 1st time making pot roast was a success because of this easy recipe! I let the meat marinate in the cream of mushroom soup & onion soup mixture for several hours & also let it bake in the oven for about 3 hrs... the result -- a very tender & tasty pot roast & vegetables. Definitely a recipe to keep & use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I tweaked the recipe a tad to accomidate me and my boyfriend. Instead of water, I subsistuted beef broth, threw in one whole yello onion cut up, and then seasoned the top of the roast with some ground garlic pepper. I also put about five pieces of bay leaves for some extra aroma. As for time, I lowered the temperature and cooked it in a regular pan for almost three hours as well. All in all, it came out pretty good for the little work put into such a large meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lostlittlefairy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
awesome recipe! meat was tender after about 3 hours at 325 degrees. did add 1 can mushroom soup, lots of garlic cloves, some seasoned salt and instead of water used beef broth. served the roast on bed of chives and garlic mashed potatoes. very good stuff dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
I'm no cook and I could do this recipe. It's so yummy and easy to make - the oven bag is a big help with clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
After my husband "begged" for a pot roast, I used this recipe..which was really good! He said it was better than the slow cooker version I had been making for years. My older daughter enjoyed the vegies that cooked with the meat, and couldn't stop eating it! It made the house smell wonderful while it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
I do not have children so I could not rate this recipe for kids. However, my husband and I loved this recipe. It will go into my book to use as one of our favorite meals. As far as easiness and quickness, you can't beat it. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I didn't have great luck with this recipe. The meat was tough and wasn't nearly done in 1 1/2 hrs. I also felt there was too much water added, which watered down the seasonings. I'm not so sure though if it was the recipe that lacked or the COOK! It wasn't a total wash, my family ate it and didn't complain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
Made this last night. It was wonderful. Actually I let the roast marinate with the soup mixture in the bag for about 4 hours. It really turned out flavorful!! A hit with the whole family. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States