Easy Portuguese Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Perfect dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I added half a teaspoon of pepper flakes and a teaspoon of chicken bouillon! It's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nora
Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Authentic or not, this ended up being a very tasty dinner with a nice crusty loaf of bread. Ended up using pinto beans instead of kidney because that's what I had on hand, but it still came out great. I'd probably add another can of broth next time just to thin it out a bit as it was more stew-like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIOCHANLEAT82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I thought it was quite good except the amount of pepper must have been a mistake. I think a tablespoon should be replaced with a teaspoon of black pepper. I had to more then double the amount of broth to make it edible and I like spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Very good soup. It may seem like too much kale when you put it in, but give it a few minutes to wilt and stir it in. Comes out perfect. The only thing I added extra was 1.5 more cups of water near the end. The salt in the recipe probably could have been omitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe! I've made it twice in the past two weeks. Even if I didn't have all the ingredients or substituted, it came out great and my two boys, ages 8 and 11 currently, really liked it! They even said that "they couldn't even taste the kale!" Then again, they both like seaweed salad. Anyway, the first time I used vegetable broth, second time chicken broth--both times just fine. The chicken broth version definitely had a saltier taste. I didn't add the kidney beans or the pasta in either version and didn't seem like it was lacking at all. This soup is going to be a staple in the winter months for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Giving this 5 stars with my additions. I used "Better than Bouillon" with water instead of chicken broth. I love this product. I used 1-2 cups more water than the recipe called for. At the very end, I added a can of cream of chicken soup to give it some creaminess. I loved it and so did my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blestmom4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
My family really enjoyed this dish. I left out the potatoes and used bow tie pasta. Was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
My substitutions: I used about 5 cups of fresh turkey broth (we'd just made some from leftover turkey bones) and 1 cup of water; used 1/2 lb chicken sausage. The chicken sausage I had on hand was not precooked and wasn't spicy, so I cooked it with some chili powder and red pepper flakes before adding to the the stock pot saute. I skipped the carrots, macaroni and parmesan cheese. I seasoned with extra red pepper flakes. 45 minutes was actually a *little* long - potatoes ended up a little softer than necessary. Otherwise, absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I used sausage from our local store, and used red potatoes which hold up better than white. This soup was wonderful and easy to make. I prepped everything before I started so it went quickly. I will definitely make this often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conneautville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Albion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States