Easy Portuguese Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
These are a not-too-sweet cake like cookie and I really enjoyed them. I had to use 3 tablespoons of half and half because my dough was a little dry, but that could be a lot of different things other than how the recipe was written. Very good!! I imagine these would be fantastic with coffee and I'll be trying that out in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I made the first batch with the original 24qty recipe. My guys loved them so much that the next day I found all the ingredients needed to make them on top of the counter. So I went back into the web site and changed the amount for 96. But unfortunately they are coming out with a sour after taste. Can any one help me figure out why?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2001
I really liked this cookie. It tastes just like a cookie my mom makes. It's not too sweet, but very dense, which makes it great with a cup of coffee. My kids liked using the cookie cutters with these cookies, although it did take longer with them helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
These cookies are great for people who like a denser more cake-like cookie. Very simple. They are not very sweet so would be better with something, such as coffee, like D-ANNA suggests. As for the bitter aftertaste in larger recipes, Zira Julio, my guess would be the baking powder is the problem. Try cutting back on it a little and see what happens. If that doesn't work, it must be the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
A great cookie recipe, simple and good flavor. Everyone that trys one has good comments on it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Dough was a little difficult to work with, but cookies came out looking fabulous. This reminded me a little of Amish sugar cookies in texture (you can find them on allrecipes as well). Too much cornstarch though (gave it a sour aftertaste). These looked nice, but I would never make them again due to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
very good cookie. dough is easy to work with. we frosted them with a powdered sugar icing. perfect balance of sweet but not too sweet. only our first batch really StuckToThePan!!! we then used parchment paper with no problems. next time i will try them on a GREASED cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This is a great recipe. I made them smaller by cutting them into medicine cups. I loved them. They were a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
made them and did not come out.had as a rock and to taste. did not wat to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States