Easy Portobello Mushroom Saute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
OMG. I had two portobello mushrooms that I was planning to have with steak but never got around to it. The steak got frozen... no big deal. But I had no clue what to do with the mushrooms. This recipe was awesome. Like others, I added a little butter and then serve it over quinoa pasta. Omitted the Asiago (didn't have any). I will be serving this amazingly delicious dish (vegan at that) to all my friends. It is delicious, filling and oh so tasty. Thank you!!! This will be one of my favorite pasta dishes for a very long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I used fresh garlic instead of garlic-flavored oil, and dried basil, as well as shallots instead of onions. I also added some balsamic vinegar and red wine near the end and a little truffle oil after turning the heat off. I served over a tossed salad with bleu cheese (instead of asiago) and avocados. Really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Tried this for dinner this evening and it was a hit. My wife really enjoyed it. Served over brown rice with fresh spinach.....thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Easy and tasty. I found that cooking them on low was unnecessary, and just sauteed them at medium heat. Also added some butter in place of some oil like another reviewer suggested, as butter and mushrooms belong together! Final note: I don't ever have garlic flavoured olive oil, so I simply minced some garlic and added to the oil in the beginning. These were really yummy; I usually do them on the grill with Worcestershire sauce, which is a much different flavour than this, and both are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Thanks for the post, Bridget! Have made it 3 times in 3 weeks - we LOVE it! Have served it with steak, with pasta, and tomorrow and am taking a neighbor's advice and will serve it with scrambled eggs for breakfast. I ad never had Asiago cheese, but really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
So easy and quick to make! I substituted the garlic flavored oil for bottled minced garlic in olive oil though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C4TLADY

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This was a fast no meat dinner. I did not add the additional 1.5 tbsp of Olive Oil. I made linguini to amke this a dinner and added some of the pasta water to make a sauce. I also added some chili flake. It was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Y_U_M! Thank you Bridget678 for this amazing recipe. Didn't have any Asiago but it was stil amazing. This will be a regular one for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Many recipes are described as quick and easy, but this one truly is. It was quick, delicious, filling, and healthy! I reduced the calories by using 1 tablesppon of toasted seasame oil and one table poon of I Can't Believe It's Not Butter Lite (165 calories vs. 360 calories). I also reduced the sodium by using spices (I used Mrs. Dash) instead of salt. I agree with other reviewers, fresh garlic (or minced garlic from the jar, 2 tsp) makes a difference and is a good alternative if you don't have garlic olive oil. Truffel oil would probably taste great too. I like the tomatoes idea that others used, I'll try that next time. I personally liked the onions, but I love the flavor onions add. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Sauteed the mushrooms with shallots and minced garlic. Added a splash each of balsamic and red wine vinegars and a pinch of red pepper flakes in the last few minutes. Let the vinegar cook down on heat. Omitted cheese and 2nd drizzle of olive oil. Delicious, light and refreshing - especially served with a salad dressed with lemon vinaigrette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGEE73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States